Pedal Power 2 plus - digitech SDRUM

General discussion and tech talk about the industry standard Pedal Power line of power supplies.
Post Reply
AngeloPB
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2019 6:30 pm

Pedal Power 2 plus - digitech SDRUM

Post by AngeloPB » Mon Mar 25, 2019 6:40 pm

Sorry I did read up similar sounding threads. I want to power the SDRUM which says 9V @ 500mA.

Since the high current 9V outputs on #5-6 are 250 mA, I am thinking there is no elegant solution. Coupling the two outputs would give 18V @ 500mA. And I don’t want to fry it.

Should I just return the SDRUM? If I can’t use it in my small Gator board it’s a deal breaker. The included switching power supply won’t fit in the AC socket as mounted.

Rez
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 10:31 am

Re: Pedal Power 2 plus - digitech SDRUM

Post by Rez » Tue Mar 26, 2019 10:06 am

Indeed, coupling 5 and 6 with a Voltage Doubler adapter would create 18VDC. So... yes, don't do that.

But, using a Current Doubler will work:

To power the SDRUM use a Current Doubler Adapter, part# PPAP in Pedal Power 2 Plus outputs 5 and 6, DIP switches set normal and one of the all black (standard polarity) cables supplied.

Cheers!
Cheers,
Ben Resnick
Voodoo Lab - Tech Support

AngeloPB
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2019 6:30 pm

Re: Pedal Power 2 plus - digitech SDRUM

Post by AngeloPB » Tue Mar 26, 2019 2:50 pm

Wow that’s a really good answer. Thanks!

Rez
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 10:31 am

Re: Pedal Power 2 plus - digitech SDRUM

Post by Rez » Wed Mar 27, 2019 9:39 am

:) and thank you!
Cheers,
Ben Resnick
Voodoo Lab - Tech Support

Post Reply