is there a way to use my GCX system to switch a Peavey 6505+

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Post Reply
neddi
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 2:50 pm

is there a way to use my GCX system to switch a Peavey 6505+

Post by neddi » Wed Jun 24, 2009 10:28 pm

i recently bought a Peavey 6505+ head and it has a dedicated footswitch with pin connectors and i wanted to know if there is any way to use my GCX system to switch the head - i have a Ground Control Pro with the audio switcher - maybe a custom cord? please help - thanx, neddi

JohnClark
Posts: 7401
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: is there a way to use my GCX system to switch a Peavey 6505+

Post by JohnClark » Fri Jun 26, 2009 2:47 pm

The 6505+ uses a DIN jack for the foot switch. For use with the GCX you will need a cable that has the DIN plug on the amp end and multiple 1/4" mono plugs on the GCX end. Peavey should be able to provide the pin configuration for your amp.
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

glebreck
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:53 am

Re: is there a way to use my GCX system to switch a Peavey 6505+

Post by glebreck » Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:58 am

I looked into this also. I have a Peavey Triple XL and still have questions. Her is the reply Peavey sent me.
On the 7 pin connector (looking from the solder side on the connector with the open space at the top) the pins are numbered in order starting at top right (one o'clock position).

Pin 1. +17VDC supply to pedal

Pin 2. not used

Pin 3. Ground this pin to detect footswitch

Pin 4. Ground/Common

Pin 5. Clean/Bypass

Pin 6. Ultra/Crunch

Pin 7. Effects

So my question is:
1 and 2 are obviously not used
3 and 4 I am not sure. I would think definatley 3 with the loop open so the head knows theres a footswitch.
5 and 6 needed
7 not needed if not using the effects loop.

So I am not sure what to use?
Need help gear is showing up on Friday!

JohnClark
Posts: 7401
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: is there a way to use my GCX system to switch a Peavey 6505+

Post by JohnClark » Wed Oct 14, 2009 12:15 pm

glebreck wrote:I looked into this also. I have a Peavey Triple XL and still have questions. Her is the reply Peavey sent me.
On the 7 pin connector (looking from the solder side on the connector with the open space at the top) the pins are numbered in order starting at top right (one o'clock position).

Pin 1. +17VDC supply to pedal

Pin 2. not used

Pin 3. Ground this pin to detect footswitch

Pin 4. Ground/Common

Pin 5. Clean/Bypass

Pin 6. Ultra/Crunch

Pin 7. Effects

So my question is:
1 and 2 are obviously not used
3 and 4 I am not sure. I would think definatley 3 with the loop open so the head knows theres a footswitch.
5 and 6 needed
7 not needed if not using the effects loop.

So I am not sure what to use?
Need help gear is showing up on Friday!

In this case pin 4 would be the common that pins 5, 6, and 7 would short to or disconnect from in order to activate or deactivate or toggle the functions. If you were to make a cable to control everything you would use a 7 pin DIN connector on the amp end that breaks out to three 1/4" ends. The common (pin 4) would connect to all the sleeves of the 1/4" ends. Each of the function pins would connect to a different Tip of the 1/4" ends. You can omit any function you don't want to control. Also, in this case, pin 3 should be connected to pin 4 on the DIN connector so the amp knows there is a "footswitch" whenever the cable is connected.

Once the cable is made, the 1/4" ends would each connect to a different GCX loop Send(N.C.) or Out(N.O.) jack. If it seems backwards (i.e. the GCX loop LED is on when the Clean channel is active) then use the opposite jack on the GCX loop.
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

glebreck
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:53 am

Re: is there a way to use my GCX system to switch a Peavey 6505+

Post by glebreck » Wed Oct 14, 2009 2:19 pm

Just wanted to say thanks. I took the cable along with the Peavey pin config, and your instructions to my local guitar shop...the took a look and said no prob. It'll be done by 7.

Thanks for the help!

willrtr
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 6:50 pm

Re: is there a way to use my GCX system to switch a Peavey 6505+

Post by willrtr » Wed Oct 14, 2009 6:55 pm

Apologies if I seem a bit dim, but are Voodoo Lab able to make this cable on a special order? I live over in London and wouldn't trust most of the guitar shop guys in my area as far as I could throw them.

glebreck
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:53 am

Re: is there a way to use my GCX system to switch a Peavey 6505+

Post by glebreck » Thu Oct 15, 2009 5:38 pm

hey you don't need a guitar shop guy...any wiring guy can get it done for you with the instructions above.

willrtr
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 6:50 pm

Re: is there a way to use my GCX system to switch a Peavey 6505+

Post by willrtr » Fri Oct 16, 2009 7:26 am

oh right.... didn't really think before I asked that :lol:
Thanks very much good sir, I shall get onto it ASAP =]

Post Reply