It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 8:51 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Power for 18v, 9v, and 12v AC
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 9:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 9:27 am
Posts: 1
I'm new to the forum and very new to using effects pedals with my 57 Strat RI, Gretsch 6120, and Fender 65 Deluxe Reverb. I'm looking to build a board and want to find one power supply to run a Fulltone Fulldrive 2 Mosfet @ 18v, a Trex Replica @ 12v AC, and several other standard 9v pedals. Can anyone tell me if there is a power source that handles this well?

Thanks for the patience with a Rookie.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Power for 18v, 9v, and 12v AC
PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2009 9:51 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:36 pm
Posts: 177
darthpolski wrote:
I'm new to the forum and very new to using effects pedals with my 57 Strat RI, Gretsch 6120, and Fender 65 Deluxe Reverb. I'm looking to build a board and want to find one power supply to run a Fulltone Fulldrive 2 Mosfet @ 18v, a Trex Replica @ 12v AC, and several other standard 9v pedals. Can anyone tell me if there is a power source that handles this well?

Thanks for the patience with a Rookie.

The Pedal Power 2+ will power these easily. Because every output is isolated, you can use a Y cable which combines 2 of the 9V outputs in series to provide 18V. Also, the Replica requires 12VDC@110mA, not AC. That leaves 5 standard 9V outputs for additional pedals.

Thanks!
Josh Fiden
Founder / CEO


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Power for 18v, 9v, and 12v AC
PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2009 12:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 3:08 am
Posts: 117
Location: New Zealand!
Josh Fiden wrote:
darthpolski wrote:
I'm new to the forum and very new to using effects pedals with my 57 Strat RI, Gretsch 6120, and Fender 65 Deluxe Reverb. I'm looking to build a board and want to find one power supply to run a Fulltone Fulldrive 2 Mosfet @ 18v, a Trex Replica @ 12v AC, and several other standard 9v pedals. Can anyone tell me if there is a power source that handles this well?

Thanks for the patience with a Rookie.

The Pedal Power 2+ will power these easily. Because every output is isolated, you can use a Y cable which combines 2 of the 9V outputs in series to provide 18V. Also, the Replica requires 12VDC@110mA, not AC. That leaves 5 standard 9V outputs for additional pedals.

Thanks!
Josh Fiden
Founder / CEO


Hi Josh,
The Replica manual says and well known in T-Rex circles that it will take either DC or AC - thats problaby where the confusion is. Go the DC route anyday I say!

_________________
Connoisseur of good tone.

http://www.john-trueman.com : Guitarist from Down Under
http://www.guitarpedals.co.nz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Power for 18v, 9v, and 12v AC
PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2009 9:47 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:36 pm
Posts: 177
Trueman wrote:
Hi Josh,
The Replica manual says and well known in T-Rex circles that it will take either DC or AC - thats problaby where the confusion is. Go the DC route anyday I say!

Thanks for the info, that's good to know!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Power for 18v, 9v, and 12v AC
PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2009 7:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 7:53 am
Posts: 9
I am also new to this forum and the concept of power supplies. How will the PP2+ work with my T-Rex Viper pedal if there is no 12V output on it? :?:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Power for 18v, 9v, and 12v AC
PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2009 11:02 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:36 pm
Posts: 177
wharris wrote:
I am also new to this forum and the concept of power supplies. How will the PP2+ work with my T-Rex Viper pedal if there is no 12V output on it? :?:

Take a look at the Pedal Power 2+ specifications on our product page:

http://voodoolab.com/pedalpower_2.htm

All outputs are normally 9VDC. However, there is a set of DIP switches on the bottom which select an alternate function for each output. 1-4 are 12V but not enough current for the Viper. The Viper requires 12V at 162mA. That is approximately what you will get from outputs 5 or 6 with the switch away from normal. That will probably work fine.

I haven't tried this and we get very few inquiries about this pedal. Please post your results.

Thanks,
Josh Fiden
Founder / CEO


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: