Ground Control Pro with Line 6 M5

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Post Reply
ChurbDawg
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:52 am

Ground Control Pro with Line 6 M5

Post by ChurbDawg » Sat Oct 26, 2019 4:42 pm

Can't seem to get the M5 to respond? I changed the M5 unit to Chnl2 (I use chnl 1 for my Mesa). I programmed a instant access to call up Midi channel 2 CC 002 which should pull up the analog chorus patch but with no effect? Am I missing something?

Also if I get the patches to change on the M5 how can I program the GCP to call up a Midi channel plus switch a GSX loop to bring in the M5 unit to my signal chain?

nyteowl
Posts: 1389
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 8:53 am

Re: Ground Control Pro with Line 6 M5

Post by nyteowl » Tue Oct 29, 2019 3:26 am

ChurbDawg wrote:
Sat Oct 26, 2019 4:42 pm
Can't seem to get the M5 to respond? I changed the M5 unit to Chnl2 (I use chnl 1 for my Mesa). I programmed a instant access to call up Midi channel 2 CC 002 which should pull up the analog chorus patch but with no effect? Am I missing something?

Also if I get the patches to change on the M5 how can I program the GCP to call up a Midi channel plus switch a GSX loop to bring in the M5 unit to my signal chain?
Have you configured the M5 as a MIDI Device assigned to Channel 2, as described on Pages 6 thru 8 in your GCPro manual?
For Sale: Original DMC GCX in Excellent Condition ($275) and a far more versatile SoundSculpture GL also in Excellent Condition ($1750). Free CONUS Shipping.

JohnClark
Posts: 7413
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Ground Control Pro with Line 6 M5

Post by JohnClark » Tue Oct 29, 2019 6:05 pm

Also, what is the MIDI cable path in this setup?

Also, as a test, if you connect the Ground Control Pro MIDI Out directly to the M5 MIDI In does the M5 respond?
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

ChurbDawg
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:52 am

Re: Ground Control Pro with Line 6 M5

Post by ChurbDawg » Wed Jan 01, 2020 11:13 am

So Yes I did follow the GCP directions in the manual on setting it up.

My signal path is the M5 connected to the GSX loop. I'm running the midi cable from GSX1 to GSX2 to Mesa Amp Head to M5. I did try just connecting the M5 directly from GSX1 with nothing else in the chain but it still would not respond. I am currently running GSX1 - GSX2 - Mesa Head and this does function properly. I feel like my mistake is in programming on the GCP or the M5 but can't seem to identify what to do differently?

Post Reply