Dingbat Px and 2 amps

Exchange tips and tricks to help you design the ultimate pedalboard.
Post Reply
Sstutch
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 3:39 am

Dingbat Px and 2 amps

Post by Sstutch » Mon Sep 10, 2018 3:57 am

Hi there. I’m new on this forum and I do my best in english, from France...be easy with me so! :oops:
I’m planning to buy a Dingbat Px but I’m not sure if my configuration will fit this Px8 switching system.

I have 2 amps plus 4 effects front pedals (disto-booster-preamp-fuzz) (called F1-F2-F3-F4 for explanations) which goes to a ABY box / direct to Amp A / for the Amp B, I got 3 modulations pedals (M1M2M3) which goes in the Fx Amp B Loop.

Current settings:
F1F2F3F4 ——ABY——> A direct to Amp A
——> Send Fx Amp B to
M1M2M3 to Fx Return
Amp B

I’d like to manage the 7 pedals with the Px 8 of the Dingbat Px.

The question is: if I leave the Loop 5 of Px always on, can I go out from « send of loop 5 » to ABY pedal /one jack to Amp A, orher to input Amp B, have « fx loop send Amp B » to « return loop 5 Px8 », and final « outpout Px8 » to return « Fx loop Amp B »? Would that work properly?

When I read back my post, looks horrible...Really apologize for that but looking for competent and expert people to fix it.

Hope to read from you!

Thanks a lot!
Merci!
Rock On!
Bonne journée!

Romain « stutch »

JohnClark
Posts: 7401
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Dingbat Px and 2 amps

Post by JohnClark » Mon Sep 10, 2018 10:31 am

Your suggested setup may work, but I cannot guarantee it would be noise free since it would be likely to have ground loop problems.

Also, your written English is perfectly understandable :)
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

Sstutch
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 3:39 am

Re: Dingbat Px and 2 amps

Post by Sstutch » Mon Sep 10, 2018 1:37 pm

Oh, thank you thank you for the answer.
I guess there’s no other set up possible to achieve my needs with this configuration?

I heard a little about ground loop...when you say « it is likely », that means a 50/50% chance to have hum?

My ABY is a radial bigshot, hope that’ll keep Away ground loops.

I think i’ll order it, try, and give feedback here to share experience.
If there’s any orher solution, let me know.

Thanks again, merci!

Romain

Chico Fronza
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 7:19 am

Re: Dingbat Px and 2 amps

Post by Chico Fronza » Fri Sep 21, 2018 7:22 am

Hi there Romain! How did it work? I just bought the px8 and I run my amps in wet/dry... same as you but with a Lehle dual as the ABY box.
Thanks

Sstutch
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 3:39 am

Re: Dingbat Px and 2 amps

Post by Sstutch » Fri Sep 28, 2018 2:31 pm

Hi Chico.
Everything works perfectly well for me; Was a bit not confident but I fo not have any ground loop or something.
Just had a little buzz at first, but that was due to « old fashioned circuit » from a British Pedal Company ToneBender 2. Move it more ahead in the signal (before loop 1) and it ‘s ok.
Have the ABY on loop 4, which is always on, amp-effect-loop return back to px8 loop 4, and I’m a convinced happy user of Voodoo Lab Px8!
What about your configuration?
Hope it helps.
Merci!
Hope it helps.

Post Reply