It is currently Tue Jun 19, 2018 6:46 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 2 amp channel switching with midi
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 6:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 6:23 am
Posts: 3
Hello all!
I am wondering if someone out there can help me solve a problem.

I play out of 2 amps at the same time setup in stereo.
Here is the basic setup...(It's a little more than this but I'll keep it simple) Guitar into A/B/Y then into a JVM410H and into a Mesa Mark 5.

Both amps are set similar...Channel 1 on clean....Channel 2 dirty....Channel 3 Metal....Channel 4 for Lead Metal.

In the mix I have a Boss Gt6. I use midi from this to the JVM410H to change the channels on the JVM410H.

My problem I am trying to solve if possible is to change channels on both amps using the GT-6 or whatever device would accomplish this.

So basically I would hit pedal 1 on the Boss GT-6 and it would switch the JVM410H to channel 1 and the Mesa Mark 5 to channel 1 at the same time.

To make things even more complicated the Mesa Mark 5 doesn't have a midi connection but it does have 4 trs 1/4" jacks for hooking to a midi device to switch the channels.

Is this possible to do and if so what would I need to buy to accomplish this?
Thanks for any ideas or info.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 amp channel switching with midi
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 3:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6991
Location: The Lab
Our Control Switcher can be used here to switch the Channels on the Mark V using the Program Change messages yo are sending from your GT6. You would only need four 1/4" cables and a second MIDI cable.

I hope that helps!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 amp channel switching with midi
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 4:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 6:23 am
Posts: 3
Thank you! I thought that might do it. Would it connect like this? Boss GT-6 midi out to voodoo control switch midi in, control switch midi out to JVM410H midi in. Then control switch 4 1/4" out to Mesa Mark 5 channel selects in. With this setup both midi gt6/jvm and 1/4" to mesa will work at the same time using the gt-6?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 amp channel switching with midi
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 5:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6991
Location: The Lab
TheMightyJambi wrote:
Thank you! I thought that might do it. Would it connect like this? Boss GT-6 midi out to voodoo control switch midi in, control switch midi out to JVM410H midi in. Then control switch 4 1/4" out to Mesa Mark 5 channel selects in. With this setup both midi gt6/jvm and 1/4" to mesa will work at the same time using the gt-6?


You Got it! You will need only to say "Mecca Lecca Hi, Mecca Hiney Ho" then program the Control Switcher to respond to Program Changes. I'll assume that the GT-6 is sending on MIDI Channel 1, unless you changed it.

Let us know if you run into any troubles!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 amp channel switching with midi
PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 12:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 6:23 am
Posts: 3
Haha awesome! Thank you! I think I'll order one up this weekend.
Thanks again!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: