Control Switcher and Harley Benton fxl8 pro

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Post Reply
NunoGuitar
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 11:53 am

Control Switcher and Harley Benton fxl8 pro

Post by NunoGuitar » Fri May 12, 2017 12:04 pm

Hello my friends!
I have an HB Fxl8 pro connected to the control Switcher via Midi... but can't get it to work.... I already send PC and CC messages but it memorises the last configuration for all the banks..
what iam i doing wrong?
i used to have the control switcher connected to a line6 M13 and everything was working fine.. but with this loop control i am not able to make it work.. Help please!!!

here is the manual for the Harley Benton Fxl8 Pro:
https://images.thomann.de/pics/atg/atgd ... online.pdf

JohnClark
Posts: 7037
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Control Switcher and Harley Benton fxl8 pro

Post by JohnClark » Fri May 12, 2017 12:28 pm

Is the Control Switcher responding at all?

Does your Control Switcher have the Black Buttons, or the Red Buttons?

Is there any other MIDI device connected to this controller?

NunoGuitar
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 11:53 am

Re: Control Switcher and Harley Benton fxl8 pro

Post by NunoGuitar » Fri May 12, 2017 1:09 pm

Hi John!!
Theres no other midi connected.. just midi out from Fxl8 to midi in Control switcher...
This one as black buttons..
As i press, let's say, bank D on Fxl8 and save a channel change in the Control switcher, it saves, but when i go to another bank the control switchs stay in that same configuration... if i save a new configuration with no amp channel switch and go back to D, my saved configuration was gone... i assume its getting the same midi note every time i press a switch in fxl8...

I do not understand much of midi programming ... I must be doing something wrong.

JohnClark
Posts: 7037
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Control Switcher and Harley Benton fxl8 pro

Post by JohnClark » Fri May 12, 2017 1:58 pm

Yea, it would appear that your controller is sending the same Program Change with each preset... it looks like you'll need to check the programming there.

I took a look at the manual you've linked and have to admit that without the unit in front of me I am having a hard time myself following what it is saying about how to set Program Changes :oops:

NunoGuitar
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 11:53 am

Re: Control Switcher and Harley Benton fxl8 pro

Post by NunoGuitar » Sat May 13, 2017 4:40 am

JohnClark wrote:Yea, it would appear that your controller is sending the same Program Change with each preset... it looks like you'll need to check the programming there.

I took a look at the manual you've linked and have to admit that without the unit in front of me I am having a hard time myself following what it is saying about how to set Program Changes :oops:

Yeph!!
I will give it a try today to see if i can manage that.. the thing is, it sends two program changes and two cc.. maybe this is the problem.. it conflitcts... i will try to put the second PC in another midi channel to see if that works. :idea: :idea:
i will let you know i it goes...
Thanks John! ;)

NunoGuitar
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 11:53 am

Re: Control Switcher and Harley Benton fxl8 pro

Post by NunoGuitar » Mon May 15, 2017 6:50 am

Hi!
I have good news!!
The problem was really a conflict between the two midi messages he was sending ... disabling one solved the problem !! :P :P

DaveBrave
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 3:30 pm

Re: Control Switcher and Harley Benton fxl8 pro

Post by DaveBrave » Sat Oct 07, 2017 3:34 pm

I have the same problem, I am using the HB FXL8 with a Marshall 6101 which has midi channel switching.

How did you disable one of the midi channels on the FXL8?

This is very frustrating!

Thanks

Post Reply