GCP+GCX- Molten Midi Tempode + Midi Solutions Quadra Thru

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Post Reply
Mister Well
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:17 am

GCP+GCX- Molten Midi Tempode + Midi Solutions Quadra Thru

Post by Mister Well » Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:42 am

Hi there.

Although I'm brand new to the community, I've been reading tons of threads since I bought my GCP+GCX last year, and it's been very useful. However, I've come to some unanswered questions (after checking almost 100 pages of thread topics) and I'd like to have some help on them.

How can I connect a Tempode + a Quadra Thru to the GCP/GCX combo? What is the right/best order?
What I want to do is to use the GCP to control Tempode, then split the signal (Quadra Thru) into 4 routes:

1- GCX (pedals and racks)
2- VoiceLive 2 into a Gig Rig pedal
3- Kaosscilator Pro
4- Ipad

Can I just place the Tempode and Quadra Thru between GCP+GCX?
Will the GCX frie the splitter? Will it work?

Thanks in advance for your attention.

JohnClark
Posts: 7086
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: GCP+GCX- Molten Midi Tempode + Midi Solutions Quadra T

Post by JohnClark » Wed Mar 15, 2017 12:15 pm

Unless it is inconvenient to wire up this way, I would run the Tempode and Quadra Thru after the GCX.

The main reason is that the GCX will phantom power the Ground Control Pro if nothing is routed in between them.

I hope that helps!

Mister Well
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:17 am

Re: GCP+GCX- Molten Midi Tempode + Midi Solutions Quadra T

Post by Mister Well » Wed Mar 15, 2017 1:08 pm

Thanks, John. It has helped a lot.

I guess I'm good to go now. I was holding back my purchases until I had the answers.
Then I'll assume there's nothing wrong with my routing plan, except for not having the GCP phantom powered by the GCX, which is not a problem. I have the DC power adapter and it will fit just fine. It's already placed under my pedalboard hood, ready to do its job.

The way you suggested would make me use three more long midi cables back around my pedalboard (VoiceLive, Ipad and KOP); I'm gonna mess with them sometimes, so they need to be near me. Besides that, I want to be able to tap tempo for some songs (Tempode).

Thanks again.

Best regards from Brazil!

ps: I meant Gig FX pedal (Chopper) , not Gig Rig.

takissam
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2016 2:36 am

Re: GCP+GCX- Molten Midi Tempode + Midi Solutions Quadra T

Post by takissam » Thu Jan 25, 2018 3:05 am

@Mister Well
Can you please tell me if the GCX can power the Quadra Thru using the "Midi Out"??

Thanks in advance!

Post Reply