It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 7:03 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: GCP & GCX & GMAJ2 & MESA MARK V problem
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 11:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 11:13 am
Posts: 2
Hello
I have voodoolab ground control, gcx and tc electronic G major 2 with mesa mark v head. I routed stompboxes like Ts9 and compressor with gcx but i cant control G major's effects seperately. Is there anyone who has any idea?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GCP & GCX & GMAJ2 & MESA MARK V problem
PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 9:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 8:53 am
Posts: 1313
Go into SetUp Mode (See Page 6 in your GCPro Manual) and identify your GM2 as Device 1. Make sure you enter the correct MIDI Channel here as well. I suspect the GM2's default channel is 1 so you should be good to go without making any changes.

Configure your CGPro in 4-Presets/Bank mode (See Page 14 in your GCPro Manual). The bottom row of buttons (large numbers 1 thru 4) will now control both your GCPro and your GM2 presets, and the upper two rows of buttons (smaller numbers 1 thru 8) will control your GCX loops.

If your GM2 preset numbers are off by one number, see Page 7 in your GCPro Manual to adjust the Start Number.

If you want to control certain GM2 effects blocks separately, you will need to program IA buttons to send the appropriate Control Change numbers to the GM2 via MIDI. I suspect you may have to get those Control Change numbers from TC Electronics.

_________________
I am not affiliated with Voodoo Lab in any way, just sharing what little MIDI and signal routing knowledge I have. If you found my assistance helpful, please pay it forward.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GCP & GCX & GMAJ2 & MESA MARK V problem
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 1:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 11:13 am
Posts: 2
I want to use preset is that, 6 buttons I want to manage.
There is a Delay, Reverb and Chorus effects in first preset at the GMajor 2.

GCP Preset 1:
1.Button - Comp - On/Off
2.Button - TS9 - On/Off
3.Button - ISP - On/Off
4.Button - GMajor2's Delay On/Off
5.Button - GMajor2's Reverb On/Off
6.Button - Gmajor2's Chorus On/Off

How do I make this process, thank you for all.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GCP & GCX & GMAJ2 & MESA MARK V problem
PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2014 9:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 3:09 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Halifax, Canada
1. Press both Setup buttons on the GCP to enter setup mode then press button 2 for Device Name/Channel. Name your G Major 2 and set it to the MIDI channel you want to use and save. . .I use channel 1 for my G Major.

2. Go to your G Major 2, press MIDI then set the channel to match the GCP and save.

4. Still on the G Major 2, press MOD and scroll to Cho/Flg, Delay and Reverb and note the CC #'s. (If there are no CC #'s set each to a different value)

5. Go back to the GCP and press both Setup buttons on the GCP to enter setup mode then press button 6 for Instant Access. The display should read something like 1.GCX - 1 LOOP 1 (This is Instant Access button 1 controlling GCX 1 loop 1 which would be your Compressor)

The Bank buttons scroll between Instant access buttons, the < CURSOR > buttons scroll between GCX and Loop and the -/NO and +/YES buttons scroll up and down to make different selections.

Set the first 3 to look like this;

1.GCX - 1 LOOP 1 (Compressor)
2.GCX - 1 LOOP 2 (TS9)
3.GCX - 1 LOOP 3 (ISP)

When you get to 4, press the +/YES button to scroll through the 4 GCX selections until you get to G MAJOR 2 (or whatever you named your Major 2 in step 2) then press CURSOR > and scroll the CTL (-/NO and +/YES as appropriate) until it matches the value that you noted for the G Major 2 Delay in step 4.

Repeat for 5 and 6.

Save

_________________
Rock and Roll. . .Guitars, Bass, Drums and Voice at high volume


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GCP & GCX & GMAJ2 & MESA MARK V problem
PostPosted: Sun Aug 27, 2017 4:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 6:15 pm
Posts: 6
Batman wrote:
1. Press both Setup buttons on the GCP to enter setup mode then press button 2 for Device Name/Channel. Name your G Major 2 and set it to the MIDI channel you want to use and save. . .I use channel 1 for my G Major.

2. Go to your G Major 2, press MIDI then set the channel to match the GCP and save.

4. Still on the G Major 2, press MOD and scroll to Cho/Flg, Delay and Reverb and note the CC #'s. (If there are no CC #'s set each to a different value)

5. Go back to the GCP and press both Setup buttons on the GCP to enter setup mode then press button 6 for Instant Access. The display should read something like 1.GCX - 1 LOOP 1 (This is Instant Access button 1 controlling GCX 1 loop 1 which would be your Compressor)

The Bank buttons scroll between Instant access buttons, the < CURSOR > buttons scroll between GCX and Loop and the -/NO and +/YES buttons scroll up and down to make different selections.


Set the first 3 to look like this;

1.GCX - 1 LOOP 1 (Compressor)
2.GCX - 1 LOOP 2 (TS9)
3.GCX - 1 LOOP 3 (ISP)

When you get to 4, press the +/YES button to scroll through the 4 GCX selections until you get to G MAJOR 2 (or whatever you named your Major 2 in step 2) then press CURSOR > and scroll the CTL (-/NO and +/YES as appropriate) until it matches the value that you noted for the G Major 2 Delay in step 4.

Repeat for 5 and 6.

Save


I have a similar set up for my euro rig (minus the GCX)

Right now, my set up is wireless into tuner, tuner out to a MXR smart gate, gate out to the head. I have the G Major in the effects loop of the Mark V. And I assign the loop to Channel 1 (clean channel). And I use a Mark V foot controller.

Question (and hopefully anyone has an answer :) ). Instead of the GCX, can I use a controller switcher (photo below) instead of the GCX to change channels on the Mark V? Also, I would like to run the G Major only for the clean channel and maybe use different effects for solo boost. Possible? Any help is appreciated. Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GCP & GCX & GMAJ2 & MESA MARK V problem
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6756
Location: The Lab
punkerted wrote:

I have a similar set up for my euro rig (minus the GCX)

Right now, my set up is wireless into tuner, tuner out to a MXR smart gate, gate out to the head. I have the G Major in the effects loop of the Mark V. And I assign the loop to Channel 1 (clean channel). And I use a Mark V foot controller.

Question (and hopefully anyone has an answer :) ). Instead of the GCX, can I use a controller switcher (photo below) instead of the GCX to change channels on the Mark V? Also, I would like to run the G Major only for the clean channel and maybe use different effects for solo boost. Possible? Any help is appreciated. Thank you.


The Control Switcher will work using the External Switching jacks on the back of the amp, no problem! On the 90Watt Mark V you should be able to switch the Channels, EQ and Solo Boost.

You can connect the G-Major to the FX Loop on the Mark V and set the FX Loop to Channel 1 only.

I hope that helps!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: