It is currently Fri Aug 17, 2018 5:46 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: G-MAJOR and Voodoo lab audio switcher
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 5:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2018 3:47 am
Posts: 4
Hey,
Can somebody explain me how i connect my voodoo lab GCX with my G-Major 2 and how i controll it with the ground controller pro?
I also have 3 pedals and a racktuner that i want to connect with my GCX, i also want that i can switch between my 2 comb amps (Vox ac30 and Fender twin)or blend them together.
A drawning or something would be extremely useful.
Thanks :D


Last edited by Klaaskie on Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: G-MAJOR and Voodoo lab audio switcher
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 11:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 7037
Location: The Lab
No problem controlling this rig. The Ground Control Pro will certainly be able to control the GCX and the G-Major 2, and the GCX will switch the effects in and out, a/B/Y the inputs of the amps, and can likely do some of the amp footswitch functions.

Exactly which model Twin and AC-30 do you have... vintage, re-issues, moded?

What is your preferred routing of your effects?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: G-MAJOR and Voodoo lab audio switcher
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 11:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2018 3:47 am
Posts: 4
Thanks for the reply :)
The amps are a Vox ac30 hw2 and the Fender 65" Twin Reverb.
For the routing of my effects :
1 : racktuner
2 : fulltone drive 1
3: fulltone drive 2
4: evh flanger
5 : G-Major
(If this is what you asked me)
Thanks a lot already


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: G-MAJOR and Voodoo lab audio switcher
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 10:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 7037
Location: The Lab
I'd start this as follows...

1. Guitar to the Guitar In on the front panel of the GCX.
2. Feedthru on the rear panel of the GCX to the Tuner Input.
3. Guitar Out on the rear panel of the GCX to the In of Loop 1.
4. Drive 1 in Loop 1.
5. Drive 2 in Loop 2.
6. Flanger in Loop 3.
7. G-Major 2 in Loop 4.

(You will need patch cables to connect Loops 1-4 in series)

The Out of Loop 4 can be split with a Y-Cable (all three ends Mono) to feed the In of Loops 5 and 6. (However, it is possible that this will introduce a ground loop buzz once the amps are connected. If so an isolation transformer may be needed or a signal splitter specifically for isolating amps from one another.)
The Send of Loop 5 will feed the Instrument Input of Amp #1.
The Send of Loop 6 will feed the Instrument Input of Amp #2.

The way this will all work is the Tuner will always be live but not directly in your signal path. Loops 1 - 4 will select your effects. Loops 5 and 6 will turn their amps on and off.

This will leave Loops 7 and 8 for the Footswitchable functions on the amps. However you have two free loops, but a total of three switchable functions.
1. Hot/Cool on the Top Boost channel of the AC30 HW2.
2. Reverb on the '65 Twin Reverb.
3. Vibrato on the '65 Twin Reverb.

Let us know if you get stuck!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: G-MAJOR and Voodoo lab audio switcher
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2018 3:47 am
Posts: 4
I did everything just like you said and it works perfect.
I used a ABY box just as you advised to use the 2 amps together.
But i have 1 question :
-Is it possible to power the GCX and the ground control pro with the power of the G-MAJOR? (so that only the G-MAJOR is plugged in and he powers them with phantom power through the midi )

Thank you dude ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: G-MAJOR and Voodoo lab audio switcher
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 12:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 7037
Location: The Lab
Right on!

Klaaskie wrote:
-Is it possible to power the GCX and the ground control pro with the power of the G-MAJOR? (so that only the G-MAJOR is plugged in and he powers them with phantom power through the midi )

No, the G-Major will not send any sort of Phantom Power. You will need to power both the GCX and the G-Major.

I hope that helps!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: G-MAJOR and Voodoo lab audio switcher
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2018 3:47 am
Posts: 4
Thank you so mutch :D
I plugged everything in to my Furman power conditioner
and now everything works perfect. The programming of the ground control also works. :)
Thanks for helping me so good.
Regards
Klaas


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: