It is currently Fri Feb 23, 2018 11:42 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: GCX Switcher - changing loops with Ableton
PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2018 4:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 4:18 am
Posts: 2
Hello guys,

we are having a quick question. For our live setup we want to change the loops in the GCX Switcher directly with Ableton (we have a live project with bpm and backing tracks so we want to automate the changes in the GCX Switcher as well if possible).

In the manual we read that this should be possible (so the changes are not controlled by the Ground Control Pro, but directly by a DAW or other midi device). For that purpose we also got a * midi cable (pin 1 and 3 not wired). We connected the cable with the pedal in input at the GCX Switcher, but we are not sure how to send commands that the GCX Switcher can process. We made a new midi track with an empty clip, and put CC information into channel 16 in the midi clip. We thought that the values in that clip might change the loops and start/stop them. The midi track output of our interface we left at channel 1. There is nothing happening so far - so are we on the right track?
We would really appreciate some help - we are not sure what to do otherwise.

Thanks so much!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GCX Switcher - changing loops with Ableton
PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 1:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6876
Location: The Lab
A GCX responds to MIDI Control Change messages 80 - 87 on MIDI Channel 16. A Control Change value of 0 turns a Loop Off, and 127 turns a Loop On.

I hope that helps!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GCX Switcher - changing loops with Ableton
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 1:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 4:18 am
Posts: 2
Hi John,
thanks so much for your reply.
We read what you wrote in the manual but we are not sure if we routed everything correctly.

So in Ableton we have the track and can choose a midi channel to output midi commands for the whole track. We can choose a channel between 1-16.
And then we have the clip that send cc commands where we can add cc changes for channels 1-119. So which channel "16" do you mean?
Is it the track midi output channel, or the cc commands channel?

If it is the midi track channel, which channel for the cc commands do we need to use?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GCX Switcher - changing loops with Ableton
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 10:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6876
Location: The Lab
Sorry to not be completely clear!

MIDI Channels are numbered 1-16, the transmitted MIDI Channel must be Channel 16 for the GCX to respond. In MIDI this is the only thing referred to as "Channel", so this will be what you are calling your "Track".

The Control Change numbers have to be 80 - 87, Loop 1 responds to Control Change number 80... Loop 8 responds to Control Change number 87. A Control Change has a data value associated with it of 0-127... If you send Control Change 80 with a Data Value of 127, Loop 1 will turn On. This will be what you are calling your "Clip".

I'll try to help as best I can, but you may want to pose this question to an Ableton forum since what you are really asking is "How do I make Ableton Live send Control Change messages 80-87 on MIDI Channel 16?"

Let us know if you get stuck!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: