Page 1 of 1

Px8+, Control Switcher, A/B/Y or Amp Selector, and multi amp

Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2018 2:46 pm
by TV_Brains
Greetings Voodoo Lab forum members,

I have a question involving my rig. I have the PX8+, a Control Switcher, and more than one amp. Is there a way to bank presets switching between amps with either a Voodoo Lab Amp Selector or A/B/Y box? An example of what I am trying to accomplish would be having clean channel using amp A and using a simple one button press on my PX8 to switch to Amp B?

Re: Px8+, Control Switcher, A/B/Y or Amp Selector, and multi

Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2018 4:04 pm
by JohnClark
You can use Loop 8 on the PX-8 Plus as an A/B... Send to Amp A, Out to Amp B.

The current Amp Selector is not MIDI controllable so it wouldn't necessarily help here.

Re: Px8+, Control Switcher, A/B/Y or Amp Selector, and multi

Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2018 4:23 pm
by TV_Brains
https://reverb.com/item/7937926-rjm-aby ... _BwE&pla=1


How about one of these? I currently have all 8 Loops in use besides the Insert Section.

Re: Px8+, Control Switcher, A/B/Y or Amp Selector, and multi

Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2018 4:29 pm
by JohnClark
That should work, but as I read that particular listing, this unit has been modified so amp A is always on and you simply turn amp B on or off... so it's really an A/Y box. heh!

Also sorry I skipped the Y part of your original request... my suggestion would have been a strict A/B only. :oops:

Re: Px8+, Control Switcher, A/B/Y or Amp Selector, and multi

Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2018 4:33 pm
by TV_Brains
Thanks for the help, I may be able to use the method you suggested in the future as I'm thinking about replacing my reverb pedel with the Seymour Duncan Silver Lake https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/SilverLake which has stereo outputs and MIDI controls. Also the Y function was not a deal breaker anyways. Would the method of using this Reverb solve my issue?

Re: Px8+, Control Switcher, A/B/Y or Amp Selector, and multi

Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 11:30 am
by JohnClark
A stereo pedal won't really help with A/B/Y switching. When both amps are active you can get a good stereo spread across them, but it tends to not work so well when only one amp is live.

An unmodified version of the Y-Not you linked would do what you are looking for.