GCX and TC Electronic Flashback X4

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Post Reply
Pauldf
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 12:27 pm

GCX and TC Electronic Flashback X4

Post by Pauldf » Sat Jan 13, 2018 1:39 pm

How’s things guys

Okay this is probably gonna sound like a simple question but it actually has me stumped. I’m putting together my rack system, a GCX controlled by a GCP. I’m in the process of connecting up all my pedals, which was going fine until I got to the Flashback X4. I know that the GCP can control the X4 through midi, so I have the midi cable coming out of the back of the GCX into the X4. The plan was that using midi I would have button 1 on the GCP, Control present 1 on the X4 and button 2 on the GCP, control present 2 on the X4 etc. etc.

The thing is, do I have to connect the input and output on the X4 to the GCX or do I just leave the numbers on 1-3 on the GXC empty and just connect the last cable from the GCX say from output 4 on the GCX to the input of the X4 and then take the output on the X4 to the amp.

Hopefully I explained it okay and that you can understand what I’m trying to do.

Thanks guys for any help you can give.

JohnClark
Posts: 7119
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: GCX and TC Electronic Flashback X4

Post by JohnClark » Thu Jan 18, 2018 3:30 pm

The Flashback X4 will respond to Ground Control Pro preset buttons using Program Change 1, 2, and 3 to recall X4 Presets A, B, and C. It doesn't respond to any other MIDI commands.

However, the X4 is set to respond in OMNI Mode (it listens on all MIDI Channels) so it can be tricky to get it to behave depending on what other MIDI gear you may be using.

You can route the X4 into any GCX Loop you like.

What else is in this rig?

Pauldf
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: GCX and TC Electronic Flashback X4

Post by Pauldf » Thu Jan 18, 2018 4:32 pm

Cheers for getting back John,

Ah I managed to get it to work on the preset changes. I just may adapt the X4’s delays to suit my needs on the presets. I was looking through the TC Forum and from what I’m reading people are saying that although it’s midi, the X4 is actually limited in what it can do. You can’t turn off the delays etc. only change them. Ah I’ll work on that for now and maybe dig more into the omni side of things later.

Thanks a million for getting back to me.

Post Reply