It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 4:34 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Hex problem
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 6:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 3:02 pm
Posts: 6
I've had my Hex for about a month now but the last couple of days it has become unusable due to massive tone/volume loss whenever it's in the signal chain.

The best way I can describe the problem is, it's almost like when the battery is dying in an active guitar ie. zero sustain and "fizzy" (and yes, i've checked the battery :D ), accompanied by the volume loss.

If I take the Hex completely out of the path, everything sounds like it should but as soon as I bring the Hex back in, the problem reappears.

I've tried different guitars, cables, removing all pedals from the loops, going straight in and out of the Hex to the amp etc and all with the same tone/volume loss result. The unit still functions as it should in regardless to midi and loop commands but I am at a complete loss as to what is causing the sound/volume issue? Something loose internally? Faulty unit?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hex problem
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 6:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6775
Location: The Lab
I suppose you can test at least the two possible signal paths in the HEX using a pair of known to be good cables.

Test #1 would be to plug your guitar directly to Loop 1 In, then take Loop 1 Out directly to the amp.

Test #2 would be to use the same cables, but with the guitar directly to Loop 2 In, then take Loop 6 Out directly to the amp.

If both tests sound the same, check the cables again ;) then check that the power supply is working correctly. HEX should be good with 9VDC @ 100mA.
If only Test #1 fails but test 2 works... stop using a 100' cable? (I don't actually expect this to be possible if this exact setup used to work and nothing else changed)
If only Test #2 fails, you can disable the Output Buffer to see if it has somehow died.

The Output Buffer is disabled by opening up the HEX chassis (two #2 Phillips screws on top, and two on the bottom) and removing the cover that is the Top and Front panel portion of the chassis. There are a pair of jumpers located in a notch in the upper circuit board. The HEX ships with these jumpers in the "Quiet Switching" position. Move the two jumpers from the "Quiet Switching" position to the "True Bypass" position. Replace the cover and try Test #2 again.

Of course if the Output Buffer is dead, we will gladly fix it. Also, if you would rather not open up the HEX, we will gladly inspect it and fix whatever may be wrong. The two tests should tell us where to start at least.

I hope that helps!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hex problem
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 7:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 3:02 pm
Posts: 6
Thanks John. I will try all those suggestions and report back.

Update:

Test 1 worked
Test 2 failed

I removed the cover and changed the jumpers as suggested (Quiet > True) and that worked. Tone/Volume was back to how it was previously (just like test 1).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hex problem
PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2017 11:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6775
Location: The Lab
OK, so that suggests that the Output buffer has somehow been compromised. Feel free to give us a call or write to info@voodoolab.com to arrange for a repair on this.

The way you have it now is 100% true bypass, with no buffer circuity in the signal path. This is perfectly fine to use this way. Having the buffer engaged (well when it works! :oops: ) is mainly to help minimize the potential pop that a true bypass switch can have in some rigs. You may decide that you would rather not use the buffer, but we would still like to repair it for you should you want to turn it back on.

Sorry for the trouble!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hex problem
PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2017 12:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 3:02 pm
Posts: 6
Excellent, thanks John. I have sent an email.

And yes, since changing the jumpers I have noticed a slight pop when engaging the loops.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: