Voodoo Lab
http://www.voodoolab.com/forum/

Pedal Order Does It matter
http://www.voodoolab.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8518
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Bboy [ Sat Oct 21, 2017 9:24 am ]
Post subject:  Pedal Order Does It matter

Hi, I have been a GCX/GCP user for a number of years. I use it for amp switching and effects and some midi. I have decided to now incorporate all my pedals in to the units.

My question is this. Where is the order of the effects made? Do I install the pedals at the GCX in the order/groups I want or is it at the GCP in the order I assign to the switches? Does it even matter?

Thanks for the advice.

Bboy

Author:  bettsaj [ Mon Oct 23, 2017 1:33 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Pedal Order Does It matter

yes, it does matter the same as it matters when you connect them on a floor pedal board.

The signal path is dictated by the GCX not the GCP, so you still need to think about where they go in the signal chain, what works best in what order. For example you wouldn't want to place a boost pedal in loop 1, ideally you'd place that at the end in loop 8 as the last effect before it hits your pre-amp.

Effect selection on the GCP has no baring on the signal path, it just selects what effect is in use. So you could actually have the boost in loop 8 of the GCX, but you can set it up to switch on and off with button 1 on the GCP.

Author:  Bboy [ Mon Oct 23, 2017 10:25 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Pedal Order Does It matter

Hi, thanks for the information. I kinda thought that, but wanted to make sure.

I'm guessing that if i want certain pedals say for acoustic guitar I would group them on there own? Does it matter as long as I put all my pedals in the proper order. I can select them as a group on the GCP?

Thanks

Bboy

Author:  bettsaj [ Tue Oct 24, 2017 12:20 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Pedal Order Does It matter

If you are going to use some effects exclusively for acoustic you could split the GCX, as you say. For example,

You could use loops 5 thru 8 as acoustic loops, with the guitar plugged into the input of loop 5 and have the send of loop 8 going direct to the DI into the PA, and then use loops 1 thru 4 as electric guitar loops in the normal way. Or you could just use one loop for acoustic....... It's really up to you.

I'm sure I've explained this slightly incorrectly..... John Clark will probably give you a better way of rigging it up... But effectively you can split the GCX.

Author:  JohnClark [ Tue Oct 24, 2017 11:33 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Pedal Order Does It matter

The order the loops are wired in is the order the signal will flow... so if you run loops 1-8 in series then Loop 1 will always be first in the chain and loop 8 will always be last.

However, this is a true bypass switcher so the order really only comes into play when loops are active as bypassed loops remove the effect from the signal chain completely.

About grouping the effects, I suppose generally grouping them would just preferred at least if to just be able to keep track of whats going on, otherwise I have the same question as bettsaj... is the Acoustic path completely separate from guitar to amp or do you just sometimes pull the guitar cable out of your electric and pop it into your acoustic guitar and you share any effects or amps between the two? Also, does the acoustic have a magnetic pickup system or is it piezo... or something else?

Let us know what you can!

Author:  Bboy [ Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:38 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Pedal Order Does It matter

Hi, thanks for all the input.

I'm not sure if this matters is that i have 4 GCX units now and a number pedals I have not used and want to put them back into service. Hence the makeover.

I understand the active and bypass functions and that I need to set pedal order up on the GCX units.

i would like to make it is as simple as possible at the GCP. I mean programming them to reduce tap dancing. Maybe John or anybody else could make suggestions.

The Acoustic section was a just an idea. I would like to share effects with both electric and acoustic, but would go to a separate acoustic amp if possible.

The Baggs DI is something I'm not sure where to place it in the loop.

I know i can assign each pedal individually on the GCP via Instant Access. Then maybe assign say Acoustic to a Preset?

I'm going deeper than I have used the units for before. I used two before for amp switching, reverb on/off, etc.

I hope this clarifies things ????

Thank You

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/