It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 2:44 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Latency with Line 6 M13
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:09 am
Posts: 5
Hello All:

I have the Line 6 M13 and the VooDoo Lab Control Switcher to use the MIDI from the M13 to change the change the channel on my Marshall DSL40C. The problem is I'm getting about a 1/2 second delay when I change scenes & channels on the M13 and this is likely a deal breaker for me as I don't want to deal with this in a live situation.

I'm pretty confident the issue is with the M13 and not the Control Switcher, but I thought I'd check with this forum to see if anyone else has run into this and if so, what resolved it?

Secondly, does anyone have the POD HD500X and use MIDI to change amp channels? Are you getting any latency with that?

Thanks in advance!

Bob


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Latency with Line 6 M13
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6751
Location: The Lab
I am not sure I have previously heard of this happening... does the amp switch within a reasonable time when pressing buttons on the Control Switcher itself?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Latency with Line 6 M13
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 10:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:09 am
Posts: 5
Hi John:

I've been doing some checking around and the issue is definitely with the M13. Seems Line 6's response is the M13 is not designed to be a MIDI controller and that the MIDI Out is for backing up patches, etc. With that they have no intention of addressing any latency.

I also confirmed that your Control Switcher is NOT the issue. When I manually change channels by pressing the buttons on the Control Switcher it's instant - just as if I was using the Foot Switch.

I'm trying to learn how to deal with the latency as about 1/4th of the songs I play require an immediate transition mid-song. Overall I'm happy with the M13 and using the Control Switcher to change amp channels so I'm hoping this works out.

Thanks for the follow-up.

Bob


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: