It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:46 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Rewiring my US rig
PostPosted: Sun Aug 27, 2017 6:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 6:15 pm
Posts: 6
Hey all,

Attached is a photo of my rig. I'm going to rewire the whole thing. I had a tech wired it with monster cable. Don't like them as they are too thick and bulky. And the connectors are not that great.


Here's how it's wired. In this order

1). Line G90 Wireless
2). Multi Selector
3). Strobe Tuner
4). Channel 1 of Decimator nose gate
5). GCX
6). Mesa Mark V input

GCX
Loop #1 - Mesa Solo Boost
Loop #2 - Mesa Channel 2
Loop #3 - Mesa Channel 3
Loop #4 - MXR 6 Band EQ
Loop #5 - MXR Flanger
Loop #6 - MXR Chorus pedal
Loop #7 - MXR Carbon Copy Delay
Loop #8 - MXR Carbon Copy Delay

Channel 2 of the Decimator Noise gate goes to the effects loop of the Mesa Mark V. And the loop is assign to channel 3 of the amp.
Any cool wiring suggestions? Love to hear them

Thanks


Attachments:
US_Rig_Diagram_1.jpg
US_Rig_Diagram_1.jpg [ 50.98 KiB | Viewed 385 times ]
USRig2.JPG
USRig2.JPG [ 49.02 KiB | Viewed 385 times ]
USRig1.JPG
USRig1.JPG [ 52.41 KiB | Viewed 385 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rewiring my US rig
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 4:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6751
Location: The Lab
The setup looks good to me!

I suppose if you wanted to just try something different, you could run the delays in the FX Loop of the amp after the Decimator Ch. 2, so the gate doesn't chop the delay repeats.

Here are the changes to make that happen...
1. Run the Out of GCX Loop 6 to the Instrument Input of the amp.
2. Run the Ch. 2 Output of the Decimator to the In of GCX Loop 7.
3. Run the Out of GCX Loop 8 to the FX Return on the amp.
4. Set the amp's FX Loop switch to "All Channels" (or wherever you use the delays).

I hope that helps!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rewiring my US rig
PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 5:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 6:15 pm
Posts: 6
JohnClark wrote:
The setup looks good to me!

I suppose if you wanted to just try something different, you could run the delays in the FX Loop of the amp after the Decimator Ch. 2, so the gate doesn't chop the delay repeats.

Here are the changes to make that happen...
1. Run the Out of GCX Loop 6 to the Instrument Input of the amp.
2. Run the Ch. 2 Output of the Decimator to the In of GCX Loop 7.
3. Run the Out of GCX Loop 8 to the FX Return on the amp.
4. Set the amp's FX Loop switch to "All Channels" (or wherever you use the delays).

I hope that helps!


John,

Thanks for the reply. I'd like to try that. Can you do a diagram sheet for me using my current set up? A lot easier with visuals. Thanks. It sounds interesting


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rewiring my US rig
PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 10:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6751
Location: The Lab
Here you go...
Attachment:
US_Rig_Diagram_2.jpg
US_Rig_Diagram_2.jpg [ 48.66 KiB | Viewed 369 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rewiring my US rig
PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 1:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 6:15 pm
Posts: 6
JohnClark wrote:
Here you go...
Attachment:
US_Rig_Diagram_2.jpg


John,

Thanks for the reply and diagram. Appreciate that. I will try this out.

Just FYI, I had Ch.2 of the decimator in the loop of the amp (and assign only to Ch.3).Since I use that channel as the main crunch tone and to cut out any noise. All other channels has the loop off.

But I do use delays and other effects on the lead channel (with the gate in the loop). Will this new wiring affect the effects if used?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rewiring my US rig
PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 2:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6751
Location: The Lab
Yea, part of this change will be that to hear the delays, the FX Loop will need to be activated.

Try it out and let us know how it goes. there was nothing wrong with your setup in the first place so if what I suggested doesn't work for you, I can take it man!

\m/ :ugeek: \m/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rewiring my US rig
PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 9:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 6:15 pm
Posts: 6
JohnClark wrote:
Yea, part of this change will be that to hear the delays, the FX Loop will need to be activated.

Try it out and let us know how it goes. there was nothing wrong with your setup in the first place so if what I suggested doesn't work for you, I can take it man!

\m/ :ugeek: \m/


I will. Thanks

One more thing. I've seen wiring diagrams where the "Feed Thru" goes into a tuner. Less in the direct chain.. Out to input? Will you be able to hit the note button for silent tuning?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rewiring my US rig
PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 9:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6751
Location: The Lab
Running a tuner off the Feedthru does take the tuner out of the direct signal path so it can't color your sound in any way. However, because of this routing the tuner can no longer be used as a signal mute.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: