Rewiring my US rig

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Post Reply
punkerted
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 6:15 pm

Rewiring my US rig

Post by punkerted » Sun Aug 27, 2017 6:05 pm

Hey all,

Attached is a photo of my rig. I'm going to rewire the whole thing. I had a tech wired it with monster cable. Don't like them as they are too thick and bulky. And the connectors are not that great.


Here's how it's wired. In this order

1). Line G90 Wireless
2). Multi Selector
3). Strobe Tuner
4). Channel 1 of Decimator nose gate
5). GCX
6). Mesa Mark V input

GCX
Loop #1 - Mesa Solo Boost
Loop #2 - Mesa Channel 2
Loop #3 - Mesa Channel 3
Loop #4 - MXR 6 Band EQ
Loop #5 - MXR Flanger
Loop #6 - MXR Chorus pedal
Loop #7 - MXR Carbon Copy Delay
Loop #8 - MXR Carbon Copy Delay

Channel 2 of the Decimator Noise gate goes to the effects loop of the Mesa Mark V. And the loop is assign to channel 3 of the amp.
Any cool wiring suggestions? Love to hear them

Thanks
Attachments
US_Rig_Diagram_1.jpg
US_Rig_Diagram_1.jpg (50.98 KiB) Viewed 1654 times
USRig2.JPG
USRig2.JPG (49.02 KiB) Viewed 1654 times
USRig1.JPG
USRig1.JPG (52.41 KiB) Viewed 1654 times

JohnClark
Posts: 7086
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Rewiring my US rig

Post by JohnClark » Mon Aug 28, 2017 4:07 pm

The setup looks good to me!

I suppose if you wanted to just try something different, you could run the delays in the FX Loop of the amp after the Decimator Ch. 2, so the gate doesn't chop the delay repeats.

Here are the changes to make that happen...
1. Run the Out of GCX Loop 6 to the Instrument Input of the amp.
2. Run the Ch. 2 Output of the Decimator to the In of GCX Loop 7.
3. Run the Out of GCX Loop 8 to the FX Return on the amp.
4. Set the amp's FX Loop switch to "All Channels" (or wherever you use the delays).

I hope that helps!

punkerted
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 6:15 pm

Re: Rewiring my US rig

Post by punkerted » Tue Aug 29, 2017 5:29 pm

JohnClark wrote:The setup looks good to me!

I suppose if you wanted to just try something different, you could run the delays in the FX Loop of the amp after the Decimator Ch. 2, so the gate doesn't chop the delay repeats.

Here are the changes to make that happen...
1. Run the Out of GCX Loop 6 to the Instrument Input of the amp.
2. Run the Ch. 2 Output of the Decimator to the In of GCX Loop 7.
3. Run the Out of GCX Loop 8 to the FX Return on the amp.
4. Set the amp's FX Loop switch to "All Channels" (or wherever you use the delays).

I hope that helps!
John,

Thanks for the reply. I'd like to try that. Can you do a diagram sheet for me using my current set up? A lot easier with visuals. Thanks. It sounds interesting

JohnClark
Posts: 7086
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Rewiring my US rig

Post by JohnClark » Wed Aug 30, 2017 10:32 am

Here you go...
US_Rig_Diagram_2.jpg
US_Rig_Diagram_2.jpg (48.66 KiB) Viewed 1638 times

punkerted
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 6:15 pm

Re: Rewiring my US rig

Post by punkerted » Wed Aug 30, 2017 1:25 pm

JohnClark wrote:Here you go...
US_Rig_Diagram_2.jpg
John,

Thanks for the reply and diagram. Appreciate that. I will try this out.

Just FYI, I had Ch.2 of the decimator in the loop of the amp (and assign only to Ch.3).Since I use that channel as the main crunch tone and to cut out any noise. All other channels has the loop off.

But I do use delays and other effects on the lead channel (with the gate in the loop). Will this new wiring affect the effects if used?

JohnClark
Posts: 7086
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Rewiring my US rig

Post by JohnClark » Wed Aug 30, 2017 2:56 pm

Yea, part of this change will be that to hear the delays, the FX Loop will need to be activated.

Try it out and let us know how it goes. there was nothing wrong with your setup in the first place so if what I suggested doesn't work for you, I can take it man!

\m/ :ugeek: \m/

punkerted
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 6:15 pm

Re: Rewiring my US rig

Post by punkerted » Wed Aug 30, 2017 9:16 pm

JohnClark wrote:Yea, part of this change will be that to hear the delays, the FX Loop will need to be activated.

Try it out and let us know how it goes. there was nothing wrong with your setup in the first place so if what I suggested doesn't work for you, I can take it man!

\m/ :ugeek: \m/
I will. Thanks

One more thing. I've seen wiring diagrams where the "Feed Thru" goes into a tuner. Less in the direct chain.. Out to input? Will you be able to hit the note button for silent tuning?

JohnClark
Posts: 7086
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Rewiring my US rig

Post by JohnClark » Thu Aug 31, 2017 9:30 am

Running a tuner off the Feedthru does take the tuner out of the direct signal path so it can't color your sound in any way. However, because of this routing the tuner can no longer be used as a signal mute.

Post Reply