TRS input for Pedalswitcher:

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Post Reply
Bandit
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 3:08 pm

TRS input for Pedalswitcher:

Post by Bandit » Fri Apr 07, 2017 3:16 pm

I have a Mission Control VM-pro Volume pedal that I want to use with my Pedalswitcher. I'm inserting it into the "insert" using a TRS insert cable by Disaster designs with one end single pancake, and the other a "Y" with one end being a red "ring" and the other "tip". As soon as I insert the cable, all power is cut and I can't get any signal.

Is this not the proper cable to use? Advise....

JohnClark
Posts: 7079
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: TRS input for Pedalswitcher:

Post by JohnClark » Fri Apr 07, 2017 4:04 pm

Are you saying that the Pedal Switcher actually powers down when this is connected?

Can you try connecting some other pedal thru the Insert, or maybe just the TRS end of the cable with nothing connected to the other ends?

Bandit
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 3:08 pm

Re: TRS input for Pedalswitcher:

Post by Bandit » Fri Apr 07, 2017 4:17 pm

No sound with insert plugged into "insert" with nothing attached to other end. I tried another pedal, and it will allow signal to pass, but with pedal engaged, no sound.

Power to the switcher not effected, just sound.

Bandit
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 3:08 pm

Re: TRS input for Pedalswitcher:

Post by Bandit » Fri Apr 07, 2017 4:19 pm


JohnClark
Posts: 7079
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: TRS input for Pedalswitcher:

Post by JohnClark » Fri Apr 07, 2017 4:23 pm

Bandit wrote:No sound with insert plugged into "insert" with nothing attached to other end. I tried another pedal, and it will allow signal to pass, but with pedal engaged, no sound.

Power to the switcher not effected, just sound.
Oh, ok, so with nothing connected I would expect there to be no signal... just thought you were saying the power cut off.

For the Insert cable connections, "Tip" should go to the Input of the pedal, "Ring" should go to the Output of the pedal. What happens if you swap these connections?

Bandit
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 3:08 pm

Re: TRS input for Pedalswitcher:

Post by Bandit » Fri Apr 07, 2017 4:33 pm

I SWEAR I tried reversing them a few times and it didn't work...Lol!

That did it....THANKS!

Post Reply