GCPro and Eleven Rack

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Post Reply
strangeland
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 3:01 pm

GCPro and Eleven Rack

Post by strangeland » Thu Oct 29, 2009 3:49 pm

I'm in the process of getting my head around two new pieces of gear here. Firstly: Anyone now anything about when to expect a GCPro template for the Digidesign Eleven Rack?
In the meantime I'm struggling a bit with the instant access programming on GCPro: When I've chosen instant access button #1 to control midi cc #25 (distortion pedal on Eleven) and then exit, select my preset again, it works fine. But when trying to repeat the procedure, changing to any other instant access button and chosing a different cc # , it will cancell my first assignment and sometimes not even work at all with the new cc#. I'm aware that the latter may be a bug in Eleven. But why doesn't GCPro remember the first assignment?
Anyone, please :roll:

JohnClark
Posts: 7109
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: GCPro and Eleven Rack

Post by JohnClark » Fri Oct 30, 2009 9:57 am

strangeland wrote:But when trying to repeat the procedure, changing to any other instant access button and chosing a different cc # , it will cancell my first assignment and sometimes not even work at all with the new cc#. I'm aware that the latter may be a bug in Eleven. But why doesn't GCPro remember the first assignment?
The Instant Access buttons are programmed in Setup Mode. If you go into Setup Mode, Instant Access, any button you edit will stay as programmed until you change it. Are you saying that is not happening?

strangeland
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 3:01 pm

Re: GCPro and Eleven Rack

Post by strangeland » Fri Oct 30, 2009 11:36 am

Yes. When going on to button #2 and assigning a different #cc, the first one is cancelled. I'm sitting with manual right now, following the instructions and can't see what I'm doing wrong, if anything. Everything else is hunky dory

JohnClark
Posts: 7109
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: GCPro and Eleven Rack

Post by JohnClark » Fri Oct 30, 2009 3:42 pm

That would be incredibly strange. Lets try a test...

1. On the Ground Control Pro press both of the Setup buttons to enter Setup Mode.
2. Press the button marked Instant Access.
3. The number at the left indicates the numbered Instant Access button you are programming. Using the Data + / - buttons and the Cursor Left / Right buttons, set this so the screen reads 1. CH 1 CTL025. (I am assuming you are using MIDI channel 1 for the Eleven Rack, if not set the "CH #" to whatever MIDI channel you are using.
4. Press the Bank Down button.
5. Program button 2 for anything really...
6. Press the Bank Up button and let me know what the screen says.

strangeland
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 3:01 pm

Re: GCPro and Eleven Rack

Post by strangeland » Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:40 pm

Hi John
Thanx for your swift reply. I'm heading for the bunk now ,on Norwegian Time :shock: I'll follow your procedure first time. (the bank down button was new to me.....)

strangeland
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 3:01 pm

Re: GCPro and Eleven Rack

Post by strangeland » Sat Oct 31, 2009 4:19 am

JohnClark wrote:That would be incredibly strange. Lets try a test...


..Press the Bank Up button and let me know what the screen says.
Working! It was the "bank" commands I'd missed.
Thanx

Post Reply