It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 3:59 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Buttons sticking on Ground Control Pro
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2016 12:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 23, 2016 12:32 pm
Posts: 5
I am finding that the bottom four buttons on my GCP are sticking really bad ,is there a way to either clean them or replace them quickly and efficiently ,without totally screwing up anything important.I have tried contact cleaner but that doesn't seem to work or did I make it worse by using that stuff.If they do need to be replaced what is the switch type I need to accomplish this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buttons sticking on Ground Control Pro
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2016 12:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6756
Location: The Lab
Sticking? As in the metal button is staying pushed down?

How old is this Ground Control Pro? Did you buy it new?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buttons sticking on Ground Control Pro
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 9:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 23, 2016 12:32 pm
Posts: 5
The GCP is an older one ,the buttons are not sticking down ,it seems like isn't making contact to switch from one program to another ,the other 3 work ok(it sometimes takes a couple of taps to get them to change) but one of them just doesn't seem to connect.I did not buy it new.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buttons sticking on Ground Control Pro
PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 9:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 23, 2016 12:32 pm
Posts: 5
So,from doing a little research I see that this is a common problem with the switches on the GCP where they become intermittent .Apparently from what i can find out is that the visible switches are spring loaded and then hit a second switch which connects to the board under neath and the spring wears out or fails to make adequate contact I have found a replacement of sorts http://www.mammothelectronics.com/4SFSS ... 003.htm,is this something you would recommend?/

Anyone?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buttons sticking on Ground Control Pro
PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 11:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6756
Location: The Lab
What version is the firmware in your Ground Control Pro?

I would not recommend the switch you linked... it would require heavy modifications to make that work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buttons sticking on Ground Control Pro
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 8:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 23, 2016 12:32 pm
Posts: 5
i am running version 1.13


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buttons sticking on Ground Control Pro
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 10:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6756
Location: The Lab
Please give us a call or write to info@voodoolab.com so we can arrange to have you send your Ground Control Pro in to us for an inspection/repair. Alternatively, we can send you some switches, but if you send it in to us we will do a "full checkup" ;)

Be sure to mention this thread.

I hope that helps!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buttons sticking on Ground Control Pro
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 11:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 23, 2016 12:32 pm
Posts: 5
Ok,will do ,thanks so much John you have been very helpful


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: