It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 5:19 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Could this be done: Put one GCX in the loop of another GCX?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 7:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:53 am
Posts: 163
Location: Downers Grove, IL
Sorry for so many posts as of late. I really would like to separate my Pedals from my Rack and put them in there own rack case and own GCX. Wanted to know if this should work in theory. I know th eonly way to know for sure is to try it. But before I do wanted your thoughts.

The idea is this and not sure if this would make things more succesptle to noise issues and if it is would using TRS cables from GCX to GCX help. I do not have my rack setup like this yet and it is currently a mess as I am trying cleanup wiring.

Path would be as follows
Guitar into GCX1 Guitar input:
GCX1 Guitar out to ISP Channel A in:
ISP CH A out to GCX1 loop 5 in:
GCX1 Loop 5 send to GCX2 loop 1 in:
(GCX2 loops 1 through 8 for pedals)
GCX2 Loop 8 out back to GCX1 Loop 5 return:
GCX1 Loop5 out to Suhr ISO Buffer splitter:
Splitter to input of AMP 1 and AMP 2:
AMP 1 Send to GCX1 loop 8 in:
AMP 2 Send to GCX1 loop 8 return:
GCX1 Loop 8 out to ISP ProRack Ch B in(ground lifted):
ISP Ch B out(ground lifted) to GCX1 Loop 6 in:
GCX1 Loop 6 thru 8 daisy chained
GCX1 Loop 8 out to Suhr minimix 2 in:
Suhr Minimix send to one in 3 out line splitter:
Line splitter 3 outs will feed inputs of GCX1 loops 1, 2 and 3:
GCX1 loop1 send Dtwo input:
GCX1 Loop2 Send Fireworx input:
GCX1 Loop3 send Gmajor2 input:
Rack effects are set to 100 Wet and L and right outputs feed input of RJM Mini Mixer
RJM Mini Mixer left output into Suhr MiniMix return:
Suhr Mini Mix output to AMP 1 Return:
RJM Mini Mixer right output to AMP 2 return:

AMP 1 is PT100 and AMP 2 is Bogner XTC with modified power section to be set identical to PT100's
PT100 power section has Dry and Left wet and Bogner power section has right wet.

This setup works as is but with the 2 GCX's in series with each other.
By removing the pedals and one GCX from main rack and placing in a separate rack will help me cleanup some cable mess but do do this the way I want the GCX with pedals would need to be in one of the main racks GCX's loops .

I have done something similar in the past where I had a pedal switcher in the loop of a GCX but got lots of emi and sometimes radio signals coming through.

_________________
Custom Audio Amplifiers PT100
Bogner Ecstasy 101B
Carvin electric guitars


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Could this be done: Put one GCX in the loop of another G
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 12:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6756
Location: The Lab
Can you put a GCX in the loop of another GCX? Short answer, YES! No problem!

Your wiring example uses GCX#1 Loop 8 twice... so no long answer at this time ;)

EMI and/or radio signals point to a bad signal ground or shielding and is usually associated with something that has high gain.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Could this be done: Put one GCX in the loop of another G
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 2:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:53 am
Posts: 163
Location: Downers Grove, IL
Yet not supposed to be used twice. Made typo somewhere but you get the idea.
I did try this once before but with pedal switcher in a loop. Loop that had it when off no noise but when engage noise. But that could have been emi from a power supply

_________________
Custom Audio Amplifiers PT100
Bogner Ecstasy 101B
Carvin electric guitars


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Could this be done: Put one GCX in the loop of another G
PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2014 11:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 11:19 am
Posts: 3
Can you use the "feedthru" to connect the 2 switcher. I think that might be easier


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Could this be done: Put one GCX in the loop of another G
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 5:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:53 am
Posts: 163
Location: Downers Grove, IL
Resqjock wrote:
Can you use the "feedthru" to connect the 2 switcher. I think that might be easier


Yes but then both GCX's would be in parallel with each other, so 2 sets of 8 loops parallel.

I wanted to 16 loops in series.

The reason to have one GCX in the loop of another is to avoid addition cable runs and daisy chains of loops when you only are using the main one.
For example lets say you have a pedal board you only use once in awhile and not want the extra cables always in your main path, you could plug a pedal board of pedal switchers or some other loop switcher into on of the GCX loops.

So when you aren't using the small pedal board, you dont have to run through the extra crap until you need it by turning on a gcx loop


But I tried this and it doesn't work without ground noise, so it kind of needs to be wired all in series without a gcx or pedal switcher in a loop.

_________________
Custom Audio Amplifiers PT100
Bogner Ecstasy 101B
Carvin electric guitars


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: