Popping

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Mechanize
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 5:26 am

Re: Popping

Post by Mechanize » Sun Oct 07, 2012 5:35 am

Thank you for your interest BurnInTheSky.
I remember doing a test like that. But always experiencing the same problem.
I will try again to perform the same test this afternoon.
Where would you recommend to connect the amplifier?
Directly to the output of the GCX buffered?

BurnTheSky
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:05 am

Re: Popping

Post by BurnTheSky » Sun Oct 07, 2012 9:23 am

Well, I ended up cabling it that way:
Board (with wah, TC tuner and MXR/CAE buffer) -> Loop 1 In, then in and out of the first five loops, then
Loop 5 Out ->Feed Thru (back)
Feed Thru (front) ->Guitar In (using a short cable with pancake plugs)
Guitar Out -> Amp In

previous versions (that gave the pop when activating/de-activating the OD9 loop) were 1) not using the GCX buffer at all, and using Humfrees to isolate the GCX from the rack rails and my rack power unit (this also gave a very small hum); 2) going from the board to the GCX buffer, then on to the loops, and removing the Humfrees (this killed the hum, but I was still having the switching pops).

For my rig, the quietest version is no Humfrees, and GCX buffer at the end of the chain, which means one buffer (the MXR/CAE one) before going into the rack, and another (the GCX one) at the end of the chain, before going into the amp.

It might not have anything to do with how everything is running, but I'm going in and out of the rack through a simple interface, consisting of Neutrik NJ3FP6C connectors screwed to a rack panel.

Anyway, the rig is very quiet now, even at stage volume with gobs of gain (there's some normal gain hiss, but very manageable, and no hum or pop at all).

Mechanize
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 5:26 am

Re: Popping

Post by Mechanize » Sun Oct 07, 2012 10:27 am

I just tried to connect everything as I have indicated.
But nothing to do, the problem remains!
I have no more testing to be done.
I really think that the noise is due to relay

Post Reply