Transmit a MIDI CC with Program Change?

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Post Reply
borehead
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 2:33 pm

Transmit a MIDI CC with Program Change?

Post by borehead » Tue Nov 22, 2011 7:20 am

I am wondering if you could transmit a MIDI CC aswell when you do a Program Change on the GCP?
All I know is that I can program IA-buttons to perform CC:s.

Regards,
Johan, Sweden

mboogman
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 10:04 am

Re: Transmit a MIDI CC with Program Change?

Post by mboogman » Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:54 am

I think if you set the IA button to transmit with preset, it would do this. It's somewhere in the manual about how to do that.

borehead
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Transmit a MIDI CC with Program Change?

Post by borehead » Thu Nov 24, 2011 11:55 am

Yes, that I know. Do you know if there's some way to do it without the IA-button? Because that is what I want to do.

mboogman
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 10:04 am

Re: Transmit a MIDI CC with Program Change?

Post by mboogman » Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:14 pm

I don't think that's possible. Pretty sure you can only do program changes.

FallenAudio
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 10:31 am
Location: Finland

Re: Transmit a MIDI CC with Program Change?

Post by FallenAudio » Wed Apr 04, 2012 2:49 pm

It's not possible with GCP.

My solution was to add Midisolution Inc, Event Processor (plus)
to the midi-chain.

You can change pc-messages to cc-messages and other way around and much more.

In my case, I use it to change IA-buttons cc-message to pc-message that loads Eventide TimeFactors preset.
It also maps the cc-value to a certain cc-number to turn preset on/off.

http://www.midisolutions.com/prodepp.htm

Post Reply