GCX With a Ground controll programing

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Cudbucket
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 9:21 am

Re: GCX With a Ground controll programing

Post by Cudbucket » Wed Nov 11, 2009 6:18 am

At this point, the only thing I can think it might be is a bad midi cable to the Whammy. Midi path is actually simple: GCX->M4->Axe->Whammy. I tried having only the Whammy in the MIDI path and it still didn't work. But I used the same cable so that's why I think it's bad. I'll try a different cable when I get home.

Thanks Josh.

Dave

Josh Fiden
Site Admin
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:36 pm

Re: GCX With a Ground controll programing

Post by Josh Fiden » Wed Nov 11, 2009 9:56 am

Cudbucket wrote:At this point, the only thing I can think it might be is a bad midi cable to the Whammy. Midi path is actually simple: GCX->M4->Axe->Whammy. I tried having only the Whammy in the MIDI path and it still didn't work. But I used the same cable so that's why I think it's bad. I'll try a different cable when I get home.

Thanks Josh.

Dave
If the Axe Fx is responding to the GCP, then you know the MIDI cable there is working. Unplug it from the Axe Fx and plug it into the Whammy.

We've got to stop meeting like this.

Cudbucket
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 9:21 am

Re: GCX With a Ground controll programing

Post by Cudbucket » Wed Nov 11, 2009 4:03 pm

But it's so sexy. :cry:

Bad MIDI cable for sure. Going to GC tonight. Now the last hurdle is to get my expression pedal to go from 0 to 127. For some reason it tops out at 125. Thanks Josh!

Dave

Cudbucket
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 9:21 am

Re: GCX With a Ground controll programing

Post by Cudbucket » Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:07 pm

Any reason to think the Boss FV-500H is not "compatible" with the Ground Control Pro? Boss seems to think so. :roll:

Anyone else using one here?

Thanks.

Dave

JohnClark
Posts: 7109
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: GCX With a Ground controll programing

Post by JohnClark » Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:48 pm

Cudbucket wrote:Any reason to think the Boss FV-500H is not "compatible" with the Ground Control Pro? Boss seems to think so. :roll:

Anyone else using one here?

Thanks.

Dave

The Boss FV-500H should work fine with the Ground Control Pro via either connection method (Volume In/Out with an Insert Cable or Expression with a Stereo Cable) however, it will not work with the original Ground Control. If it isn't giving a full sweep then you may have to adjust its potentiometer slightly if you can get to it. Good Luck!

Cudbucket
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 9:21 am

Re: GCX With a Ground controll programing

Post by Cudbucket » Thu Nov 12, 2009 6:03 pm

I'll try the In/Out jacks with a "Y". Then I'll try opening it and getting to the pot.

Dave

Cudbucket
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 9:21 am

Re: GCX With a Ground controll programing

Post by Cudbucket » Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:28 pm

I opened the pedal and no matter how far I turn the pot it just doesn't send anything over 125. I'm going to get a pair of Y cables tomorrow and try using the In/Out jacks.

Post Reply