It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 5:05 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Cable routing - MIDI Question
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 6:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 5:59 pm
Posts: 3
Sorry to be such a newbie, but I have had no success on my own and would appreciate some input...

I want to run my GCP with my AXE-Ultra like usual, and at the same time have my PC hooked up to my AXE thru my Midimate controller cable. Is this not what the "Thru" connection should provide, or is there another eay to hook this up?

Also - any way to get tuner display from the Axe on the GCP?

Thanks -


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cable routing - MIDI Question
PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2009 11:44 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:36 pm
Posts: 177
What is a "Midimate controller cable"?

You can connect the PC MIDI out into the Ground Control Pro MIDI in and the MIDI out to your Axe-Fx. Alternately, if the PC is at your rack and you don't want to run an extra MIDI cable back to the GCP on the floor, you can combine the PC & GCP with an external box such as a MIDI Solutions Merger.

There is no provision to display the tuner on the GCP.

Regards,

Josh Fiden
Founder / CEO


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cable routing - MIDI Question
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 3:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 5:59 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks Josh. Guess my issue is that the PC want in and out to the Axe-FX for up and download. I tried In and Out to the Axe and Thru to the GCP but that didn't work.

Should I be able to go - PC out to GCP in, out to AXE in to PC with Midi?

The Midimate is the M-Audio USB to Midi converter device I have. Think that is an old name, and it apparently goes by Uno now.

http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Uno.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cable routing - MIDI Question
PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2009 1:09 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:36 pm
Posts: 177
zionplayer wrote:
Thanks Josh. Guess my issue is that the PC want in and out to the Axe-FX for up and download. I tried In and Out to the Axe and Thru to the GCP but that didn't work.

Should I be able to go - PC out to GCP in, out to AXE in to PC with Midi?

The Midimate is the M-Audio USB to Midi converter device I have. Think that is an old name, and it apparently goes by Uno now.

http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Uno.html

The MIDIMate that I knew was a footcontroller from Rocktron which was discontinued in the '90s... I've used the Uno.

Are you doing something that you need to control the Axe-FX from the footcontroller and PC simultaneously? For example, is the PC running a sequencer and making changes during live performance for you? Or are you just using the PC as an editor/librarian for the presets?

Let me know what you're trying to do and I'll give you some options.

Regards,

Josh Fiden
Founder / CEO


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cable routing - MIDI Question
PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2009 4:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 5:59 pm
Posts: 3
PC as Editor. So when my PC is plugged in I lose my pedals (connected to the GCP), and when GCP is plugged in I can't use the Editor.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cable routing - MIDI Question
PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2009 8:28 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:36 pm
Posts: 177
Now I understand! This is not for live performance, it is just a convenience issue.

The Axe-FX editing is done with MIDI sysex commands, which the current GCP filters. This was done because sysex messages can be very long, and we didn't want to have any delays when you hit a button on the GCP. This almost never comes up as an issue, but it is possible we could change it on a future firmware revision if more people want to do this.

Here are the choices:

1. Patch from the GCP MIDI out to the Axe-FX. When you want to edit presets, move the cable from the GCP out to the PC out.

2. Get a small MIDI patchbay. Then when you want to edit, you flip a switch to change the routing.

3. Get a MIDI merger. Then you can merge the MIDI outs of PC and GCP together and send that to Axe-FX. No patching or switches.

MIDI Solutions makes a merge box for USD79. I designed an autorouter specifically for sysex back in the '80s called the Digital Music Funnel. That would work well if you can find one. Also, the Digital Music MX-28S (manual switching) or MX-28M with merge (no switching). Any of these old DMC products would be very cheap on eBay if you find one.

Please post what you do and how it works, or if you need more help!

Regards,
Josh Fiden
Founder / CEO


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: