Control Switcher and Traynor YCS100H2

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
forum_crawler
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 2:41 pm

Control Switcher and Traynor YCS100H2

Post by forum_crawler » Fri Jul 23, 2010 1:42 pm

Hi John, I was wondering if the Control Switcher is capable of controlling the Traynor YCS100H2.

The amp uses 3 momentary switches for channel witching and a latching switch for solo boost. It also uses a TRS cable for parallel fx loop and on board reverb (none of which I use).

The foot controller (which controls channel switching and solo boost) connects to the amp using a 5-pin Din connector with a -17V ground. Is it possible to control the amp with the Control Switcher?

Please say yes :) :mrgreen:

JohnClark
Posts: 7374
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Control Switcher and Traynor YCS100H2

Post by JohnClark » Fri Jul 23, 2010 4:56 pm

OK, I'll say yes, not because you asked so nicely, but because it will work. ;)

It looks like you can use a standard 5-Pin MIDI cable (as long as all 5 pins are wired... a.k.a. 5 Pin Active or 5 Pin Wired) connected to the Control Switcher's Multi jack. This will arrange the Control Switcher switches so that Switch 1 controls Channel 1, Switch 2 controls the Solo boost, Switch 3 controls Channel 2, and Switch 4 controls Channel 3. Switches 1, 3, and 4 will need to be set to Momentary and Switch 2 will need to be set to Latching. I hope that helps.
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

forum_crawler
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 2:41 pm

Re: Control Switcher and Traynor YCS100H2

Post by forum_crawler » Sat Jul 24, 2010 1:03 pm

John...

Thank you.

Lucky for me, the store near where I live does carry the amp, and voodoo lab gear. Now I feel like I can go and try this out myself.

If this works, I will forever be a VL fanboy (sort of are already ;)). I have talked to RJM, Traynor, and nobody seemed to have enough confidence in their gear. Yours is rather inspiring, but well justified. I own a couple of PP2+, and ISO5, GCP, GCX and the Analog Chorus (LED), and now I will have to get this as well.

Thank you very much for your prompt reply.

forum_crawler
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 2:41 pm

Re: Control Switcher and Traynor YCS100H2

Post by forum_crawler » Mon Jan 10, 2011 9:10 am

John, another question for you...

OK so I tried the control switch with my amp, but as it turns out, it actually turns off ALL the channels in the amp...

It would appear as though the way to switch channels on the amp is done by using a pulse that closes the circuit between the channel selector and then behaves like an open circuit. To illustrate this, I disconnected all the cables in the foot switch and was able to duplicate this behavior by touching the common ground to the channel selection cable...

When I use the control switcher it performs the pulse switch, but it also behaves as though it leaves the circuit closed. I have set the required switches to momentary mode and set to pulse ON.

I wonder if there is a way to get the control switcher to support momentary, pulse on, and N.O. behavior so that it acts like it closes the circuit when I select it, and then behaves like an open circuit afterwards? Is that even possible? Or if there is a way to simulate this behavior with additional circuit components?

Thanks!

JohnClark
Posts: 7374
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Control Switcher and Traynor YCS100H2

Post by JohnClark » Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:50 pm

I am sorry for the trouble. Let me try to contact someone at Yorkville Sound/Traynor to be sure we do this correctly before going further.
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

Ytsejammer
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 1:05 pm

Re: Control Switcher and Traynor YCS100H2

Post by Ytsejammer » Tue Feb 15, 2011 1:09 pm

Sorry to hijack this thread, but I was curious if you had found anything yet. I am wanting to connect my YCS100H2 to my GCX Guitar Audio Switcher.

forum_crawler
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 2:41 pm

Re: Control Switcher and Traynor YCS100H2

Post by forum_crawler » Sat Feb 19, 2011 5:48 pm

Nothing yet.

As described above, the way the YCS100H2 does channel switching is kind of weird. For some reason channel switching is not done by connecting the "channel" wire to the ground and leaving it there, in fact, it connects it for just a moment and then it reverts back to what looks like an open circuit.

I so hoped the Control Switch would be the silver bullet, but it isn't. What I am wondering now is if this behaviour could be duplicated using relays? I am not entirely sure how the CS does its switching, but maybe if I use it to control relays that would in turn control the channel switching it may work?

John, if you are reading this thread, what would you suggest? Traynor has not been very helpful in this regard towards me which is a shame...

forum_crawler
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 2:41 pm

Re: Control Switcher and Traynor YCS100H2

Post by forum_crawler » Thu Mar 10, 2011 9:29 am

So John, have you not heard anything or have any suggestions?

I would really like to know if this was an exercise in futility and just move on if that is the case.

Thanks.

forum_crawler
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 2:41 pm

Re: Control Switcher and Traynor YCS100H2

Post by forum_crawler » Mon May 30, 2011 11:22 am

OK, so it has been several months, and still no reply?

Wow, I know there is activity in this forum because I see people getting their questions answered, but if this whole device not jiving with my amp is the way it will always be, then please at the very least say so instead of just ignoring me.

Oh well, c'est la vie I suppose...

JohnClark
Posts: 7374
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Control Switcher and Traynor YCS100H2

Post by JohnClark » Tue May 31, 2011 12:07 pm

I am terrably sorry that you got left hanging in all this.

I guess over time I sort of gave up trying to get the necessary information from Traynor/Yorkville Sound about this amp... I will try again.

I was never ignoring you!


I suppose in the mean time we can try a little test. Can you possibly give us a call while you are with this amp and have the Control Switcher connected?
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

Post Reply