Ground Control Pro Firmware update for Digi Eleven Rack

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
markorth
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 1:04 am

Ground Control Pro Firmware update for Digi Eleven Rack

Post by markorth » Tue Feb 23, 2010 10:42 pm

Awhile ago one of your engineers posted a thread about an upcoming firmware update to the Ground Control Pro for Eleven Rack users that would map presets 1 to 1 between the devices.

What is the status of this update please?

Thanks
Mark

JohnClark
Posts: 7300
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Ground Control Pro Firmware update for Digi Eleven Rack

Post by JohnClark » Wed Feb 24, 2010 11:09 am

Sorry to be so short on details at this time. I can tell you that the changes specific to Eleven Rack are really just a pre-loaded template that has the preset names and Instant Access buttons assigned. I do realize this is quite useful to start with, but there is nothing new in this regard that cannot be done with the current Ground Control Pro software.
What is it you would like to do? Perhaps I can help you get up and running right away with your current setup.

markorth
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 1:04 am

Re: Ground Control Pro Firmware update for Digi Eleven Rack

Post by markorth » Sat Feb 27, 2010 2:44 am

JohnClark wrote:Sorry to be so short on details at this time. I can tell you that the changes specific to Eleven Rack are really just a pre-loaded template that has the preset names and Instant Access buttons assigned. I do realize this is quite useful to start with, but there is nothing new in this regard that cannot be done with the current Ground Control Pro software.
What is it you would like to do? Perhaps I can help you get up and running right away with your current setup.
I want to individually assign my favorite presets to the GCP, rather than the controller trying to populate the 10 presets/bank. As you know, the 11R has a maximum of 208 presets. When the GCP is set to 10 presets/bank, it tries to sequentially populate the 200 presets, but it does not come out right. Plus, I don't really care for all the presets and I want the flexibility to create new presets on the fly and have them saved to the GCP and 11R.

Should I be using the 4 presets/bank with Instant Access instead?

I still want the firmware update though! :P

JohnClark
Posts: 7300
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Ground Control Pro Firmware update for Digi Eleven Rack

Post by JohnClark » Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:56 am

Regardless of the mode chosen (10 Presets vs. 4 Presets per Bank) all Ground Control Pro presets are programmable for the patches recalled on your Eleven Rack. Check out the Select Preset section of the Ground Control Pro manual for information on how to select the bank type, then find Assigning MIDI Program Changes under the Edit Preset section for information on how to make Ground Control Pro presets recall the desired patches.

markorth
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 1:04 am

Re: Ground Control Pro Firmware update for Digi Eleven Rack

Post by markorth » Fri Mar 05, 2010 12:00 am

JohnClark wrote:Regardless of the mode chosen (10 Presets vs. 4 Presets per Bank) all Ground Control Pro presets are programmable for the patches recalled on your Eleven Rack. Check out the Select Preset section of the Ground Control Pro manual for information on how to select the bank type, then find Assigning MIDI Program Changes under the Edit Preset section for information on how to make Ground Control Pro presets recall the desired patches.
Thanks John, I finally figured out how to load the presets I want into the GCP from 11R. I guess there is no way to access the presets beyond the first 128 on the 11R though, huh? Or will this be possible with the firmware upgrade? If so, when will it be available?

Also, now how do I get the 8 instant access buttons to control the 8 variables for each preset on the 11R: amp, wah, distortion, modulation, delay, reverb, fx1, fx2?

JohnClark
Posts: 7300
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Ground Control Pro Firmware update for Digi Eleven Rack

Post by JohnClark » Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:57 am

To access presets above 128 you will need to use MIDI Mapping to recall a patch with a Program Change below 128. MIDI Bank change commands will be introduced with the v2 software that is not yet available. Release dates will be posted in Announcements once they are known.

The Instant Access button will be programmed to send MIDI Control Change messages corresponding to the effect you want to control. These Control Change numbers associated with the different effects are found within the Eleven Rack manual. Check out the Instant Access section of the Ground Control Pro manual under Setup Mode for instructions on how to assign these Control Change messages to your Instant Access buttons.

soli'd
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 7:23 pm

Re: Ground Control Pro Firmware update for Digi Eleven Rack

Post by soli'd » Thu Aug 12, 2010 7:51 pm

John, sorry to belabor this point, but if the 11r patches are in groups of four by letter, is the only way to translate the patch numbers to the GCP to count them up and set it that number on the GCP patch edit?
So for example,
A1-A4= GCP number 1-4
B1-B4= GCP number 5-8
C1-C4= GCP number 9-12
D1-D4= GCP number 13-16
etc...? Am I doing it wrong? I guess you just have to plan out the programming of each one together. Is there any easier way to figure out that 11r's patch R3 is GCP number 71 without referencing a spreadsheet?

It would be nice to save the 11r patches to line up with the GCP's banks A, B, C, etc... but the GCP powers on at 1 and you have hit the bank button 9 times to get to the A bank.
I'd love to hear that I'm approaching it all wrong... :roll:

JohnClark
Posts: 7300
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Ground Control Pro Firmware update for Digi Eleven Rack

Post by JohnClark » Fri Aug 13, 2010 4:22 pm

soli'd wrote:John, sorry to belabor this point, but if the 11r patches are in groups of four by letter, is the only way to translate the patch numbers to the GCP to count them up and set it that number on the GCP patch edit?
So for example,
A1-A4= GCP number 1-4
B1-B4= GCP number 5-8
C1-C4= GCP number 9-12
D1-D4= GCP number 13-16
etc...? Am I doing it wrong? I guess you just have to plan out the programming of each one together. Is there any easier way to figure out that 11r's patch R3 is GCP number 71 without referencing a spreadsheet?

It would be nice to save the 11r patches to line up with the GCP's banks A, B, C, etc... but the GCP powers on at 1 and you have hit the bank button 9 times to get to the A bank.
I'd love to hear that I'm approaching it all wrong... :roll:
Well the "GCP number" is not actually specific to the Ground Control Pro, it is actually the MIDI Program Change message that recalls the desired preset location on your Eleven rack.
You could go into the Ground Control Pro and start programming the lettered banks so they recall the same displayed lettered preset locations on your Eleven Rack but I don't think it would really be worth while to do so. The presets on the Ground Control Pro are fully programmable, I doubt that you are going to always need to switch between Eleven Rack factory preset in sequential order, any preset on the Ground Control Pro can recall any preset on Eleven Rack. If you need to go from Eleven Rack preset A1 to Eleven Rack Preset H3... you could program Ground Control Pro presets 01 and 02 to do just that without having to press the bank up button at all.
Of course, this still requires that you have a chart that lets you know which MIDI Program Change message recalls which Eleven Rack preset, but this is totally normal for any device that does not display the actual Program Change message that recalls a specific preset location.

I hope that helps!

drebin
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:55 am

Re: Ground Control Pro Firmware update for Digi Eleven Rack

Post by drebin » Tue Nov 23, 2010 7:46 am

JohnClark wrote:...with the current Ground Control Pro software...
What is this??

I didn't see any downloads on the Voodoo website, but I did stumble across a little utility on http://www.sense-electronics.nl/ - is that what you mean, or is there some better utility for editing the GCP? (btw, I'm using an Eleven Rack too, and am interesting in making the integration a little less manual)

Thanks!

JohnClark
Posts: 7300
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Ground Control Pro Firmware update for Digi Eleven Rack

Post by JohnClark » Tue Nov 23, 2010 11:28 am

drebin wrote:
JohnClark wrote:...with the current Ground Control Pro software...
What is this??

I didn't see any downloads on the Voodoo website, but I did stumble across a little utility on http://www.sense-electronics.nl/ - is that what you mean, or is there some better utility for editing the GCP? (btw, I'm using an Eleven Rack too, and am interesting in making the integration a little less manual)

Thanks!
I was referring to the software within the Ground Control Pro. The current version is 1.13. The new v2 software will be a EProm chip that gets replaced inside the Ground Control Pro.

The Sense Electronics program is an editor/librarian that a Ground Control Pro user created.

I hope that helps!

Post Reply