Can the PX8 switch channels on the mesa TC50?

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Post Reply
Chico Fronza
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 7:19 am

Can the PX8 switch channels on the mesa TC50?

Post by Chico Fronza » Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:57 am

Hi there guys!
The topic title pretty much speaks for it self... I am buying a mesa boogie TC50 which is midi programable. I'd like to know if any of you know if it is possible to use the PX8 to switch the amp's channels.
Thanks a lot, appreciate it

Francisco

JohnClark
Posts: 7462
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Can the PX8 switch channels on the mesa TC50?

Post by JohnClark » Mon Nov 18, 2019 1:07 pm

Yes, a PX-8 or PX-8+ will recall stored presets on the TC-50.

The PX-8 has three presets and the PX-8+ has 36 presets. Each preset will send a fixed MIDI Program Change message and you will set the amp to respond appropriately.

Here are the steps to program the amp:
1. Select a preset on the PX-8 or PX-8+.
2. Manually select the TRIPLE CROWN Channel and other functions you would like on or off in the preset, using the amp’s toggle switches. (You must flip every switch you want to store with this preset, even if its already on the correct setting... for instance, if you want the Clean Channel to be stored and the toggle switch is already on Clean, you must switch it away and back to store the setting.)
3. Engage the STORE SWITCH, and the STORE LED will illuminate briefly as an indication that the preset has been saved.

I hope that helps!
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

Chico Fronza
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 7:19 am

Re: Can the PX8 switch channels on the mesa TC50?

Post by Chico Fronza » Sun Nov 24, 2019 3:53 pm

That's awesome! Good to know it will work!
Thanks a lot once again John!

Post Reply