Expanding possibilities - More loops required

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Post Reply
bettsaj
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 12:13 pm
Location: Darkest Suffolk UK
Contact:

Expanding possibilities - More loops required

Post by bettsaj » Mon Sep 16, 2019 2:24 am

Hi

I have a dilemma... as some of you may know I have a rather extensive rack system which i need to expand even more, but on a budget.

I'm currently running in my rack a fully stereo GCX, a CAE line mixer, a TC D-Two and a TC G-force. I want to run both TC units through the mixer, but I only have 1 GCX loop available, all the others are full with stomp boxes.

Is it possible to run both units through the mixer, but run the G-Force in series, and the D-Two in parallel, utilising only one loop? How can I wire this up?

I'm looking at expanding the amount of loops by buying a small 4 loop audio switcher like a HEX (expensive) or a G-lab (cheaper) so i can expand my possibilities. This leads onto another question..... If I plugged a HEX or G-Lab into the loop out of the GCX do they need to be on the same midi channel as the GCX to work as an extension of the GCX, or will they have to have their own midi channel?
"My technique is laughable at times. I have developed a style of my own, I suppose, which creeps around. I'll never be a very fast guitar player."

David Gilmour

nyteowl
Posts: 1385
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 8:53 am

Re: Expanding possibilities - More loops required

Post by nyteowl » Mon Sep 16, 2019 3:23 am

bettsaj wrote:
Mon Sep 16, 2019 2:24 am
I'm looking at expanding the amount of loops by buying a small 4 loop audio switcher like a HEX (expensive) or a G-lab (cheaper) so i can expand my possibilities. This leads onto another question..... If I plugged a HEX or G-Lab into the loop out of the GCX do they need to be on the same midi channel as the GCX to work as an extension of the GCX, or will they have to have their own midi channel?

Just a thought, but if you're considering the purchase of a HEX, why not pick up a used GCX and gain eight additional loops as opposed to four? There are always units available on both Reverb.com and eBay, and often a few that can be had for $200 or less.

The usual recommendation is for each MIDI device in the chain to operate on it's own independent MIDI channel, but I've run as many as four devices on the same MIDI channel without issue, so you may want to experiment a bit to find out what works best for you.

I am not affiliated with Voodoo Lab in any way, but enjoy sharing what little MIDI and signal routing knowledge I've picked up over the years. If you find my assistance helpful, please pay it forward.

bettsaj
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 12:13 pm
Location: Darkest Suffolk UK
Contact:

Re: Expanding possibilities - More loops required

Post by bettsaj » Mon Sep 16, 2019 5:03 am

I have looked into another GCX (which would be my preference), but currently they're out of my price range. I'm in the UK the prices are a bit rich here for a GCX

https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_from ... x&_sacat=0

There is one on auction in the US that I'm bidding on..... I'll see how that fairs.
"My technique is laughable at times. I have developed a style of my own, I suppose, which creeps around. I'll never be a very fast guitar player."

David Gilmour

JohnClark
Posts: 7401
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Expanding possibilities - More loops required

Post by JohnClark » Mon Sep 16, 2019 10:33 am

You could just control the G-Force's own Bypass function via MIDI. No extra switcher needed. ;)
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

Post Reply