Tc delay and reverb

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Post Reply
Voodoolab.
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2019 10:47 am

Tc delay and reverb

Post by Voodoolab. » Fri Dec 27, 2019 11:03 am

    Hi fellows

    I’m trying to configure a TC rack delay (D-Two) and a reverb (M3000) to be used as both presets in the GCP and as IA as they other stompboxes I’m using.
    So I want to have 4 stored presets on button 1-4, and the various stomps as IA on 1-6.
    Now is it possible to have a delay and a reverb on, say 7-8?
    The aim is to have a completely dry signal on preset 1, and the be able to choose other pedals or delays/reverbs in and out as I like?

    All units and pedals are connected into the rear on the

    Voodoolab.
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2019 10:47 am

    Re: Tc delay and reverb

    Post by Voodoolab. » Thu Jan 16, 2020 2:50 pm

    Realizing that my previous post didn’t get through, I thought I wanna ask the question again, just slightly angled.
    Can I have my tc delay and tc reverb rackunit, already connected in loops of the GXC, used as IA on the GCP? I.e. I wanna have the guitars dry signal (fx off) on number 1 and then be able to add-in delays of reverbs by selecting them as IA’s. I would suggest to configure AI buttons to ask for the specific cc..?

    Is this correct or how should I do it?

    Many thanks in advance

    nyteowl
    Posts: 1389
    Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 8:53 am

    Re: Tc delay and reverb

    Post by nyteowl » Fri Jan 17, 2020 6:40 am

    Voodoolab. wrote:
    Thu Jan 16, 2020 2:50 pm
    Can I have my tc delay and tc reverb rackunit, already connected in loops of the GXC, used as IA on the GCP? I.e. I wanna have the guitars dry signal (fx off) on number 1 and then be able to add-in delays of reverbs by selecting them as IA’s. I would suggest to configure AI buttons to ask for the specific cc..?

    Is this correct or how should I do it?

    Many thanks in advance

    Welcome to the board.

    You're definitely on the right track, but the IA Buttons on a GCPro cannot send MIDI Program changes, so unless you can change presets on your TC devices via CC Messages, you'll need to use an alternate approach.

    Since you've already connected your TC units to your GCX, I'm guessing you've properly configured these devices as described on Pages 6 and 7 in the GCPro Manual, but if you've not yet done so that would be your first step. Again, if you haven't already done so, you should also program the desired TC Delay and TC Reverb presets into the respective units.

    Last but not least, you just need to configure your GCPro to send the desired program changes. Again, I'm guessing, but since you want to control your effects with IA buttons, it sounds like you're running your GCPro in 4-Presets/Bank mode, so you can program the lower row of buttons (1 thru 4) to call up your initial desired effect states (dry or wet) and use IA buttons to send individual CC messages to your Delay and Reverb units.

    If you can't change presets on your TC devices using CC Messages, you could try running your GCPro in 10-Presets/Bank mode to send different program changes to each unit when you change Presets, but in that mode you would lose all your IA Buttons. If that doesn't work for you, there's always the option of changing to a more versatile MIDI Controller, something I did a long time ago because - at least to me anyway - the additional expense was well worth the added flexibility.

    Hope this helps.
    For Sale: Original DMC GCX in Excellent Condition ($275) and a far more versatile SoundSculpture GL also in Excellent Condition ($1750). Free CONUS Shipping.

    Post Reply