Using a Dingbat and a Amp Selecter for a wet/dry/wet setup

Exchange tips and tricks to help you design the ultimate pedalboard.
Post Reply
Kaya
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2018 11:34 pm

Using a Dingbat and a Amp Selecter for a wet/dry/wet setup

Post by Kaya » Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:27 am

Hey there, am waiting on my Dingbat px 8 plus. I am so stoked to finally achieve my ultimate setup where all my gear plays well together combining my vintage amps, vintage and boutique pedals and some other random weirdness that is basicly going to result in a wer/dry/wet setup where the 2 outside amps will be my stereo chorus, stereo reverb then my stereo Delay and the dry amp will be all the O.D. Dist fuzz and mod pedals going into what I call my Pony Wall Of Sound, I want to know if my VL Amp Selecter will play well to allow me to possibly use with my theramin echo and a looper to 2 other amps, Do you have any thoughts how you can use these and a radial aby to achieve this. Here is the signal path i am thinkin

Guitar >Fulltone Wah>Bogner Ecstacy>Dingbat px8plus >>
loop 1 Analogman mod TS9>vintage ts9
Loop2 Vintage Rat >Vintage Marshall Bluesbreaker
Loop3 EHX Sovtek Green Muff
Loop4 Voodoo Lab Micro Vibe
Loop5 Vintage script MXR PHASE 90
Loop6 EHX * Talking crying * wah /fuzz w/EXP Pedal
Output loop> Boss tu3 tuner>Boss Looper>Roland Jazz Chorus>
..............
T1m mod EB Vol. Pedal > Lovepedal amp 50 boost>
Loop7 EHX pog2 >EHX Qtron mini
loop8 Catalinbread Vocoder > Trem EQD Afterneath > Voodoo Lab Amp Selecter >
StereoT.C. Electronics Corona>T.C.Hall Of Fame Reverb > T..C. FlashbackX4 >
powered by Pedal power 2 and 4X4>
Fender Princeton Reverb BF 12" Left
Fender Princeton Reverb SF Drip Edge 10" right for the wet/ wet portion
Have other amps Vibro champs
And some Mesa Boogies that I'd like to work in via the Amp Selecter, None of this is hooked up yet so some stuff will come and go, trying to whittle this down to the essentials so time will tell
Sorry thats alot to chew on just seeing if you had any insight to all this excess
Thanks and Buenos Nachos...😎🎸👍

JohnClark
Posts: 7344
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Using a Dingbat and a Amp Selecter for a wet/dry/wet setup

Post by JohnClark » Tue Sep 18, 2018 4:29 pm

I'm not sure I completely follow your signal path, so forgive me if I'm missing something here. ;)

The Amp Selector has two Inputs. When only Input A is used, the signal can be sent to all four amp Outputs. When both Inputs are used, Input A can only be sent to Amp Outputs 1 & 2, and Input B can only be sent to Amp Outputs 3 & 4. The Tuner/Thru is always fed from Input A.

Some questions...
1. The Bogner Ecstacy, Do you mean the Red or Blue pedal, OR do you mean the Amp?
2. The Jazz Chorus, Is this a JC-40, or is it a JC-120? (If JC-120, is it a newer model with the effects loop?)
3. The Princetons will always be the Wet amps?
4. The Vibro Champ(s?), Mesa(s?) will be the Dry amps... how many Dry amps will you use at once?
5. Per your signal path it would look like you want the "Wet" amps to get all effects, and the "Dry" amps to have everything except the Chorus, Reverb and Delay... is that right?
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

Kaya
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2018 11:34 pm

Re: Using a Dingbat and a Amp Selecter for a wet/dry/wet setup

Post by Kaya » Tue Sep 18, 2018 10:51 pm

Sorry that I didn't make it clear ill whittle it down more to make it easier to take in

Guitar>wah >ecstasy blue pedal>
Dingbat px8> loops1-6 > Roland jc120 for the single dry amp, think it's older no loop

Loops 7 & 8 > either Princeton's or vibros in stereo, thought loops 7 & 8 going into the chorus reverb and delay would all go to the wet amps
So it's everything up til loop6 into
jc120
everything after loop 7 into stereo wet amps

I wanted to use the amp selecter to run either the Mesas or what ever Fenders are not being used one for the looper and one for a Echo Theramin pedal. I would prob. Run the amp selecter in the all 4 mode, but where in the chain can i put it to put it in use, i was thinking after loop 6, or after loop8 or output seems most doable. I also have a Radial bigfoot aby i could use if id have to to work the amp selecter in. Hope this makes sense to you .
Thanks

JohnClark
Posts: 7344
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Using a Dingbat and a Amp Selecter for a wet/dry/wet setup

Post by JohnClark » Wed Oct 03, 2018 3:52 pm

Oops... sorry to leave this one for so long!

I think maybe the Amp selector would be your way to split the signal up as well as to be able to turn the "Wet" amps on and off.

First would be to run your guitar to the Amp Selector Input A then you would use the Amp Selector Tuner/Thru to feed the Input of the Wah.
This would let you use Amp Selector Outputs 1 and 2 to drive the Stereo effects for the "Wet" Amps.

The Theramin is an instrument of sorts so it can go straight to its own amp I think. Exactly what is the Theramin pedal you have?
The Looper can be inserted almost anywhere, but exactly which Boss Looper do you have?
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

Post Reply