Popping only in amplifier effects loop

Exchange tips and tricks to help you design the ultimate pedalboard.
Post Reply
rphelps
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 9:03 pm

Popping only in amplifier effects loop

Post by rphelps » Wed Sep 02, 2015 9:40 pm

Hi, I just purchased 2 new pedal switchers, I have one going to the front of my amp (looping my distortion pedals and one compression pedal), and the other one controlling my modulation pedals in the effects loop of my amplifier - Fender Deluxe. I'm having the same by-pass popping as everyone else, however, mine seems to be only occurring with the one that's controlling the pedals in the amp effects loop (power amp in / pre amp out inputs). The popping even occurs when there are no pedals plugged in the switcher at all and I just hit switches on the empty loops. Do you know what I might be able to do to remedy that?

Thanks in advance!
Attachments
amp-effects-loop.jpg
In and out jacks to my switcher for my modulation pedals.
amp-effects-loop.jpg (60.16 KiB) Viewed 2778 times

JohnClark
Posts: 7119
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Popping only in amplifier effects loop

Post by JohnClark » Thu Sep 03, 2015 11:48 am

Try swapping the input you use on the Pedal Switcher between the non buffered Input, and the Buffer input to see if that makes any difference.

Also, how are you powering the Pedal Switcher?

rphelps
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 9:03 pm

Re: Popping only in amplifier effects loop

Post by rphelps » Thu Sep 03, 2015 7:16 pm

Hi John, thanks for the quick response. Okay, so yesterday I did actually try swapping out the inputs, it seemed to make a small difference, but there definitely was still popping there, a little fainter but very noticeable. Today I tried it again, but this time I connected one pedal at a time and tested each as I added them (yesterday I just sort of crammed everything on all at once and powered up, when I tried it empty the other switcher was still plugged in, so maybe that made a difference). So, with both switches in passive input, this time the popping was gone...maybe a little bit here and there, but so faint it's almost not even worth mentioning. I have a lot of cable, but I have an old Boss eq I just wired up between the first switcher and my amp, so (for now) that's helping push the signal through really well actually.

To answer your second question, for now I have both switchers plugged into a power strip into my wall. I'm currently in the process of building my pedal board, any suggestions on a power supply?

Again, looks like the popping is taken care of, thanks again for your quick help!

JohnClark
Posts: 7119
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Popping only in amplifier effects loop

Post by JohnClark » Fri Sep 04, 2015 11:25 am

Well glad the pop went away!

On the power supply, I was really just checking that you were providing the correct power to the Pedal Switchers. They can do funny stuff if powered incorrectly.

If you are looking to use a single power supply to power the whole pedal rig then we likely have a Pedal Power model that can help out. What are the other pedals and things you are using in this rig that you would need to power?

rphelps
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 9:03 pm

Re: Popping only in amplifier effects loop

Post by rphelps » Sat Sep 05, 2015 11:58 am

I'll be powering: Dunlop Crybaby, fulltone fulldrive, boss compression pedal, microvibe, boss dd3 delay, Zoom MS-100BT MultiStomp. That's in the lineup for now, but I'm sure I'll be adding and removing things over time. In generally I'll just have 6 - 7 pedals on the board.

JohnClark
Posts: 7119
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Popping only in amplifier effects loop

Post by JohnClark » Tue Sep 08, 2015 11:18 am

A Pedal Power 4x4 would cover your current six pedals and two Pedal Switchers. A Pedal Power Mondo would also work and allow for more room to grow.

I hope that helps!

Post Reply