Voodoo Lab
http://www.voodoolab.com/forum/

Current Doubler + Output splitter x2?
http://www.voodoolab.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=8719
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Firedogx [ Mon Jan 01, 2018 9:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Current Doubler + Output splitter x2?

Hi I was wondering if I could combine 5 & 6 on my PP2+ to provide 500ma @ 9v, and then split the output so I can send 300ma to my strymon timeline and the rest to ANOTHER split output to power a Polytune 3 @ 100ma and a neunaber WET reverb at 80ma? Will stacking the output splitters cause issues even with the ground lift in the cables?

Here are my list of pedals.

Fulltone OCD - 18v Combine and split outlets 1 & 2
Timmy - 18v combine and split Outlets 1 & 2
Xotic SP Comp - 18v combine Outlet 3 & 4
Timeline - 9v Outlet 5 & 6
Polytune 3 - 9v Outlet 6
Neunaber WET - 9v Outlet 6
Echoplex Preamp - 9v .5 outlet 7
Phase 95 - 9v .5 outlet 7
DITTO X2 Looper - 9v outlet 8
Mic Mechanic 2 & Sansamp - Courtesy Outlet Power Strip

Alternatively I was thinking of this setup:

Fulltone OCD - 18v 2 outlets 1 & 2
Timmy - 18v 2 Outlets 1 & 2
Xotic SP Comp - 18v Outlet 3 & 4
Timeline - 9v Outlet 5 & 6
Polytune 3 - 9v Outlet 6
ditto looper - polytune Outlet
Echoplex Preamp - 9v .5 outlet 7
Phase 95 - 9v .5 outlet 7
Neunaber WET - 9v outlet 8
Mic Mechanic 2 & Sansamp - Courtesy Outlet Power Strip

Author:  JohnClark [ Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:45 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Current Doubler + Output splitter x2?

I think your first setup is probably the better one.

I would avoid sharing the power to the TimeLine with anything else. If you need more current for other pedals, you can use the Current Doubler for the Time Line on output 5 or 6 combined with any other Output... for instance use Output 6 and 7 for the TimeLine and have output 5 free for pedals that combine to more than 100mA.

I hope that helps!

Author:  Firedogx [ Wed Jan 03, 2018 11:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Current Doubler + Output splitter x2?

JohnClark wrote:
I think your first setup is probably the better one.

I would avoid sharing the power to the TimeLine with anything else. If you need more current for other pedals, you can use the Current Doubler for the Time Line on output 5 or 6 combined with any other Output... for instance use Output 6 and 7 for the TimeLine and have output 5 free for pedals that combine to more than 100mA.

I hope that helps!


When “daisy chaining” pedals through Output 5 as you recommend. Is it better/a possibility to use multiple splitters? For example, splitting Output 5 and then splitting it again to connect 3 pedals? (I don’t have a multiple DC “daisy chain” cable.)

Do oh also have any experience with the Polytune DC out? If the polytune is drawing current from the PP2+, will the Polytune DC out also be filtered from the PP2+?

Thank you :)

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/