It is currently Thu Aug 16, 2018 4:55 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Best way to connect pedals using VoodooLab PedalPower-2 Plus
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 11:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 11:47 am
Posts: 3
Hi, I have the following 8 pedals and I would appreciate your advice on how best to connect them to the Power Power plus.

1) Boss TU 3
2) Ibanez Tube Screamer
3) Boss Distortion
4) Fuzz face mini
5) MXP phaser 90
6) Deluxe memory man
7) Boss Digital Delay
8) Strymon Flint

Can I use a splitter to connect the Boss TU-3 and Ibanez Tube Screamer? What is the best way to power the Deluxe Memory Man?

Thanks,
Jon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Best way to connect pedals using VoodooLab PedalPower-2
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 12:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 7035
Location: The Lab
The TU-3, Tube Screamer, Fuzzface Mini, Phase 90, and probably both the Boss Distortion and Delay can each be powered from any output with the corresponding DIP Switch set to Normal. Also, any of these pedals can be powered from the power output on the TU-3. Just to be certain, what are the model numbers for the two Boss pedals?

The Flint can be powered from output 5 or 6 with the corresponding DIP Switch set to Normal.

Do you have the 9V or 24V Deluxe Memory Man? If it is the 24V version then you will need a 2.5mm Voltage Doubling Cable to combine any two of outputs 1-4 with their corresponding DIP switches set away from Normal.

I hope that helps!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Best way to connect pedals using VoodooLab PedalPower-2
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 1:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 11:47 am
Posts: 3
Hi, the Boss pedals are DS1X and DD-7. The Memory man is 24V. So to be clear: I use two inputs from 1-4 with the cable for the memory man, then use a splitter cable from 3 to power the TU-3 and Tube Screamer (or one of the boss pedals)?

Flint goes into 5 or 6. The other pedals could go into any of the other inputs. So it would look something like

Inputs 1-2 - Memory Man with Cable
Input 3 - splitter cable powering TU-3 and Ibanez
Input 4 - Boss DS1X
Input 5 - Strymon Flint
Input 6 - Boss DD-7
Input 7 - Fuzz face mini
Input 8 - Phase 90

Thanks a lot for your help!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Best way to connect pedals using VoodooLab PedalPower-2
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 2:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 7035
Location: The Lab
That will work fine! Just make sure the outputs you use for the 24V Deluxe Memory Man have their DIP Switches set away from Normal. All the other outputs will have the switches set to Normal.

You can certainly use the Output Splitter Adapter but you don't don't actually need it with the TU-3 because the TU-3 has a power output jack that basically accomplishes the same thing. You can use one of the included all black barrel cables to go from the power output on the TU-3 to the Tube Screamer power input.

Good Luck!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Best way to connect pedals using VoodooLab PedalPower-2
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 11:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 11:47 am
Posts: 3
Ok, many thanks! One last question: If I want to add one or two more pedals, can I use a splitter cable to power two Boss pedals with any of the inputs or do they have to be powered individually?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Best way to connect pedals using VoodooLab PedalPower-2
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 12:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 7035
Location: The Lab
You can combine any combination of your pedals excluding the Deluxe Memory Man and Flint. If you have the DD-7 as one of the paired pedals you may want to use Output 5 or 6 (with the corresponding DIP Switch set to Normal) for the higher current capability.

Good Luck!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Best way to connect pedals using VoodooLab PedalPower-2
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2018 1:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 1:30 pm
Posts: 2
Hi everybody,

My name is Jordan and I'm writing from Peru.

I have a question about connecting my effects on the PP2+. The switch is in the normal position. From 1 to 8 the effects are connected in the following way.

1--> Stereo Pulsar (EHX)
2--> Blues Driver-2 (Boss)
3--> Carbon Copy (MXR)
4--> Nano Big Muff (EHX)
5--> Whammy V (Digitech)
6--> Cry Baby Wah wah (Dunlop)
7--> Noise Supressor NS-2 (Boss)
8--> Polytune 3 (TC Electronics)

Is it ok or should I use another configuration for the outputs? I don't want to ruin them. Also, I'd like to know if it's ok to use the courtesy output from the Polytune or the NS-2, or will it add hum? and which is the current they can provide?.

Thank You


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Best way to connect pedals using VoodooLab PedalPower-2
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2018 4:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 10:31 am
Posts: 176
As Whammy 5 requires more than 250mA, output 5 or 6 alone will not suffice. Instead, to power the Whammy 5 use a Current Doubler Adapter, part# PPAP in Pedal Power 2 Plus outputs 4 and 5 (or 6 and 7), DIP switches set normal and one of the all black (standard polarity) cables supplied.

You can try powering an additional power from the NS-2 as you suggest, if this adds hum/buzz, using instead an Output Splitter Adapter, part# PPAV may give superior results.

And, as your Whammy 5 will be using two outputs... you may need to use two output splitter adapters.

Or, perhaps power the whammy 5 from the AC courtesy outlet with its adapter/wall-wart.


Cheers!

_________________
Cheers,
Ben Resnick
Voodoo Lab - Tech Support


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Best way to connect pedals using VoodooLab PedalPower-2
PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2018 5:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 1:30 pm
Posts: 2
Hi Rez,

Thanks for the answer I was using it in the port 5 since in the manual says that it requieres less than 265 (<265mA) but I will take in count your advice and use the courtesy outlet for the whammy. The other pedals are ok, aren't they?
Thanks!
Jordan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Best way to connect pedals using VoodooLab PedalPower-2
PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2018 11:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 10:31 am
Posts: 176
If it's working from 5 alone... you could simply keep it that way. But, if it ever starts to act "funny", it may be due to being marginally under-powered (and maybe change it then).

And yes, other pedals are good-to-go.

Cheers!

_________________
Cheers,
Ben Resnick
Voodoo Lab - Tech Support


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: