Which PP2 outlet for a vintage Maxon CP9 Pro+?

General discussion and tech talk about the industry standard Pedal Power line of power supplies.
Post Reply
marchini_1010
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 2:43 pm

Which PP2 outlet for a vintage Maxon CP9 Pro+?

Post by marchini_1010 » Tue Sep 26, 2017 4:25 pm

Hi!, which outlet for the PP2 should I use for a vintage Maxon CP9 Pro+ pedal?

Regards.

JohnClark
Posts: 7133
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Which PP2 outlet for a vintage Maxon CP9 Pro+?

Post by JohnClark » Tue Sep 26, 2017 4:45 pm

On a Pedal Power 2+ you would need to use output 5 or 6 with the corresponding DIP Switch set to Normal.

If you have a Pedal Power 2 (not the + model) then you may need to power this from the Courtesy Outlet.

I hope that helps!

marchini_1010
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 2:43 pm

Re: Which PP2 outlet for a vintage Maxon CP9 Pro+?

Post by marchini_1010 » Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:44 pm

JohnClark wrote:On a Pedal Power 2+ you would need to use output 5 or 6 with the corresponding DIP Switch set to Normal.

If you have a Pedal Power 2 (not the + model) then you may need to power this from the Courtesy Outlet.

I hope that helps!

Oh, what is the difference between a normal PP2 and the PP2+?

Thanks!

JohnClark
Posts: 7133
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Which PP2 outlet for a vintage Maxon CP9 Pro+?

Post by JohnClark » Thu Sep 28, 2017 11:23 am

Sorry for the delayed reply!

The main difference between the two is the available current on outputs 5 and 6. On a Pedal Power 2+ these outputs offer up to 250mA, and on the Pedal Power 2 these outputs are limited to 100mA.

The Pro+ pedals need the higher current outputs in order to satisfy their high current demand at startup. Our outputs are rated for their continuous current capability, but the 250mA outputs will provide much more current for the brief amount of time these pedals demand more current.

Good Luck!

Post Reply