Buzz when adding in AC powered pedals

General discussion and tech talk about the industry standard Pedal Power line of power supplies.
Post Reply
winstondeath
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 7:52 pm

Buzz when adding in AC powered pedals

Post by winstondeath » Sun Sep 17, 2017 7:58 pm

Hi all,
I am getting a serious buzz when adding in one, two, or both of my AC powered pedals from the back AC port. My chain is as follows:

Guitar > Swollen Pickle Fuzz > Fuzz Factory > Dunlop Cry Baby > Whammy 5 > Lovetone Meatball > Boss TU-2 > Yamaha FL-10MII > TC Electronic Hall of Fame > Orange Dark Terror Amp, with a Line 6 DL4 in the FX loop.

Without the Whammy and Wah it's clean, but when I add in either of those, crazy loud buzz. Any suggestions?

Thanks!

JohnClark
Posts: 7072
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Buzz when adding in AC powered pedals

Post by JohnClark » Mon Sep 18, 2017 12:05 pm

Are the power adapters for these pedals close to other pedals or cabling when you are having this problem? As a test, can you plug these adapters in using an extension cord so you can move them away and note if the buzz is affected?

winstondeath
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 7:52 pm

Re: Buzz when adding in AC powered pedals

Post by winstondeath » Mon Sep 18, 2017 12:07 pm

I did already try that, exactly as you suggested. All the other pedals on the PedalPower, and the Whammy and Wah into a different outlet...

JohnClark
Posts: 7072
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Buzz when adding in AC powered pedals

Post by JohnClark » Mon Sep 18, 2017 4:47 pm

Wait, so even without the AC pedals you get a buzz when using the Wah?

What is the simplest setup that still has this problem? What if you only go thru the Wah?

winstondeath
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 7:52 pm

Re: Buzz when adding in AC powered pedals

Post by winstondeath » Sat Oct 07, 2017 6:04 pm

Wel, if I leave the Whammy completely out of the chain and use the wah mains powered, thew whole rig is fine. So it's pretty obvious that the whammy is the problem. I'll check with digitech, but I'm wondering if anyone else has this issue?

Post Reply