Voodoo Lab
http://www.voodoolab.com/forum/

Pedal Power 2 Plus for Maxon AD900? (HELP)
http://www.voodoolab.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=8257
Page 1 of 1

Author:  FileUnderMforMusic [ Tue Aug 08, 2017 7:05 am ]
Post subject:  Pedal Power 2 Plus for Maxon AD900? (HELP)

Hello all,

I've just bought a Maxon AD900 (4 chip set) pedal.

Pedal reads -
"DC12V Only Centre Positive"
Maxon AC Adaptor that comes with it reads -
Input - 120VAC
Output - 12VDC 200mA

I'm in the UK.
So, to use this i'd need a 120V > 240V transformer.

But i'm wondering if i'd be ok to use Pedal Power 2 plus outputs 5 or 6, with dip switch ON, to power it.
This would give me 12VDC 200mA, but it would be unregulated.

Being that i am powering a pedal with old, largely unavailable Bucket Brigade chips in it, should i really be using a 12VDC regulated power supply?

Many thanks in advance for any help.

George

Author:  JohnClark [ Tue Aug 08, 2017 8:58 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Pedal Power 2 Plus for Maxon AD900? (HELP)

The AD900 actually draws less than 30mA and can be powered from any one of Outputs 1-4 with the corresponding DIP switch set away from Normal.

I hope that helps!

Author:  FileUnderMforMusic [ Tue Aug 08, 2017 9:41 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Pedal Power 2 Plus for Maxon AD900? (HELP)

Thanks John Clark, if that's the case, that helps massively!

Please humour me whilst i double check, as i'd hate to fry the pedal -

So outputs 1-4 with dipswitch on (set away from normal) gives me 12.3v with 60mA.
Even though the pedal says 12v, that extra .3v isn't going to do any harm?
Plus, that's 12.3v REGULATED, correct?

Thanks so much for chipping in, and helping out.

Author:  JohnClark [ Tue Aug 08, 2017 10:04 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Pedal Power 2 Plus for Maxon AD900? (HELP)

No problemo!

The ACA Outputs (1-4 with the DIP Switch away from Normal) are indeed regulated. And the possible .3V absolutely will not harm your pedal.

The L6 Outputs (5 and 6 with the DIP Switch away from Normal) on the other hand are not regulated and would probably run at about 16V with this pedal... I'd bet even these wouldn't actually fry the pedal, although it might be getting to the top end of what it will accept so I wouldn't recommend using these.

Good Luck!

Author:  FileUnderMforMusic [ Wed Aug 09, 2017 2:51 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Pedal Power 2 Plus for Maxon AD900? (HELP)

Thanks very much John.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/