Can I use up to 200mA non-Line 6 pedals with a PP2 (not +)?

General discussion and tech talk about the industry standard Pedal Power line of power supplies.
Post Reply
philh27
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 5:32 am

Can I use up to 200mA non-Line 6 pedals with a PP2 (not +)?

Post by philh27 » Fri Mar 17, 2017 6:10 am

Hi,

I have just bought a used PP2, specifically to upgrade my pedal power and to incorporate a Source Audio Nemesis delay, which requires 200mA.

The Nemesis wasn't operating properly using outputs 5 or 6 (in normal position) and I've now realised that I should/ thought I was getting a PP2+! My mistake.

So my question is- as I don't want to try it without expert opinion- if I select the relevant dIp switch to the up position, will this give me 200 mA from outputs 5 and 6 that I could use with the Nemesis?

Thanks

JohnClark
Posts: 7079
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Can I use up to 200mA non-Line 6 pedals with a PP2 (not

Post by JohnClark » Fri Mar 17, 2017 1:22 pm

I wouldn't suggest doing that. The voltage might be too high for this pedal in the away from Normal mode.

A Current Doubler Adapter connected to any two outputs with the corresponding DIP switches set to Normal would be the best way to power this pedal from a Pedal Power 2 (not +).

I hope that helps!

philh27
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 5:32 am

Re: Can I use up to 200mA non-Line 6 pedals with a PP2 (not

Post by philh27 » Fri Mar 17, 2017 2:59 pm

Thanks for the response John, that is helpful and saves some potential heartache!

I think I'll actually sell his one in and buy a PP2+,what I originally intended! :)

Post Reply