4x4 to carl martin octa-switch mk2

General discussion and tech talk about the industry standard Pedal Power line of power supplies.
Post Reply
hoodoo
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 3:21 pm

4x4 to carl martin octa-switch mk2

Post by hoodoo » Thu Aug 06, 2015 3:39 pm

Hello first topic post :)

Been searching around and didn't find info bout connecting the octa-swich II to the 4x4.

I have PP+2 (which works really good!) but since I'd want to use 8 pedals to the octa-switch I need 2 more outputs, one to my Tuner and one for the Octa-switch.
So I figure I'd go for the 4x4 since it's got all the outputs I need (all my pedals are basically 9V's).

Does it go with one of the Highcurrent 9V 400mA outputs and can I use the 12Vs for 9V pedals?

Thanks!

JohnClark
Posts: 7086
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: 4x4 to carl martin octa-switch mk2

Post by JohnClark » Thu Aug 06, 2015 4:48 pm

The Octa-Switch MK2 can be powered from output 5 or 6 on a Pedal Power 2+ with the corresponding DIP switch set to Normal, or from any 9V High Current output on an ISO-5, Digital, 4x4, or Mondo.

You may be able to power all your pedals with your Pedal Power 2+ by combining a few lower current draw pedals using two of our Output Splitter Adapters.

The 12V outputs on the 4x4 can be used at the same time as the 9V outputs they are ganged with, but they should only be used with pedals that are able to accept 12V.

I hope that helps!

hoodoo
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 3:21 pm

Re: 4x4 to carl martin octa-switch mk2

Post by hoodoo » Thu Aug 06, 2015 7:17 pm

Ahh thanks man!

This is very good info!

Maybe a stupid question but Im just getting into this:

If I use the PPAV Output Splitter will I be able to use it thru #6 (if the Octa goes to #5) on the PP+2?
As long as the two effects dont go over 250 mA together that is.

JohnClark
Posts: 7086
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: 4x4 to carl martin octa-switch mk2

Post by JohnClark » Fri Aug 07, 2015 10:33 am

You can use the Output Splitter on any output really, as long as the combined current draw of the paired pedals does not exceed the current limit for the output used. You'll have 100mA on outputs 1-4 and 7 & 8, and 250mA on outputs 5 and 6.

Good Luck!

hoodoo
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 3:21 pm

Re: 4x4 to carl martin octa-switch mk2

Post by hoodoo » Fri Aug 07, 2015 12:01 pm

Thank you so much! You're the man!

You've spared me alot of hassel! :)

Ordered some PPAV's and some of your other cables. Gonna be cool having it all set up.

Just wanna say you guys at voodoo labs are doing an amazingly good job!

Thanks again!

Louike
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 5:41 am

Re: 4x4 to carl martin octa-switch mk2

Post by Louike » Mon Feb 20, 2017 5:46 am

JohnClark wrote:The Octa-Switch MK2 can be powered from output 5 or 6 on a Pedal Power 2+ with the corresponding DIP switch set to Normal, or from any 9V High Current output on an ISO-5, Digital, 4x4, or Mondo.
I hope that helps!
You mean the Octa Switch can be powered with only 1 cable on output 5 or 6? (which would mean 250mA on the pedal power 2+)

Carl Martin states that it should be 380mA

JohnClark
Posts: 7086
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: 4x4 to carl martin octa-switch mk2

Post by JohnClark » Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:56 am

Louike wrote:
JohnClark wrote:The Octa-Switch MK2 can be powered from output 5 or 6 on a Pedal Power 2+ with the corresponding DIP switch set to Normal, or from any 9V High Current output on an ISO-5, Digital, 4x4, or Mondo.
I hope that helps!
You mean the Octa Switch can be powered with only 1 cable on output 5 or 6? (which would mean 250mA on the pedal power 2+)

Carl Martin states that it should be 380mA
Interesting... user's tests have shown it to work, but I do admit to not ever having one myself to test with. You could use a Current Doubler Adapter (the one with the Green end) connected to both outputs 5 and 6 with their corresponding DIP switches set to Normal if you prefer.

Good Luck!

Post Reply