Attempting to use Pedal Power 2 Plus w/Vocalist Live 2 ??

General discussion and tech talk about the industry standard Pedal Power line of power supplies.
Post Reply
DRJM
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 12:19 pm

Attempting to use Pedal Power 2 Plus w/Vocalist Live 2 ??

Post by DRJM » Mon Sep 07, 2009 12:28 pm

Hello,

I am trying to use Pedal Power 2 Plus with the DigiTech Vocalist Live 2. I have not been successful in making the pedal power 2 the power source. Do you have any suggestions on which outputs I should use? Currently I am using output 6 with the dip switch away from NORMAL position.

If this helps anyone the power supply indicates that its Output: 9V ~ 1.3A

I am trying to avoid making a small AC Extension for the Edison plug on the back on the Pedal Power 2... :oops:

If anyone has any thoughts or suggestions they would be appreciated.

David

JohnClark
Posts: 7088
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Attempting to use Pedal Power 2 Plus w/Vocalist Live 2 ??

Post by JohnClark » Tue Sep 08, 2009 12:00 pm

The Vocalist Live 2 requires AC power. You will have to use the Courtesy Outlet on the back of the Pedal Power 2+. Alternatively, either of the high current outputs of the Pedal Power AC will power the Vocalist Live 2.

DRJM
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 12:19 pm

Re: Attempting to use Pedal Power 2 Plus w/Vocalist Live 2 ??

Post by DRJM » Tue Sep 08, 2009 12:18 pm

Yesterday I did purchase an AC pigtail with two plugs. I did run that off of the courtesy plug.

Specifically are you saying that outputs 5 or 6 or both combined should run the Vocalist?

I don't want to splice the HPRO power transformer but I am starting to wonder if its the actually power connector that comes from the power supply plugging into the Vocalist Lice. Those are about $60 to replace so I may just have to continue using the pigtail.

JohnClark
Posts: 7088
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Attempting to use Pedal Power 2 Plus w/Vocalist Live 2 ??

Post by JohnClark » Tue Sep 08, 2009 12:49 pm

The Vocalist Live 2 cannot be powered from any of the front panel jacks on a Pedal Power 2+. It can, however, be powered using the supplied adapter connected to the Courtesy Outlet on the back of the Pedal Power 2+.

I'm not quite following you on the last part about the pigtail and splicing the supplied power supply. Does the supplied adapter power up the Vocalist when connected to a wall jack?

DRJM
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 12:19 pm

Re: Attempting to use Pedal Power 2 Plus w/Vocalist Live 2 ??

Post by DRJM » Tue Sep 08, 2009 2:26 pm

Yes it works just fine plugged into a wall.

I understand that my only option is to use the courtesy plug.

Thanks

Post Reply