It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 9:42 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Ground Question with PP2+ & Digital
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 7:39 am
Posts: 84
I think I have a ground loop in my rig and I am troubleshooting one of the thousands if issues it may be.

I am using a PP2+ to power all my 9v pedals in my rack shelf. These pedals are placed in a RJM Gizmo switcher (had a GCX but needed more loops) in loops before my preamp. I am also using a Digital to power four other effects: Strymon Möbius (before preamp), Strymon Timeline (post preamp in parallel loop with RJM mini mixer), RJM mixer (post preamp) and Shure SLX wireless (before preamp which feeds into the switcher).

I have two questions:
1). The power supplies are zip tied to some rails on the rack. Is it possible that they can create a ground loop this way because the metal on the supplies are touching the chassis?
2.) Does it matter that some of the outlets from the Digital are supplying power to different devices in different parts of the signal chain (as listed above)? Furthermore, the Shure wireless is a reverse polarity device (the only one that is). Could that cause problems?

I realize that ground loops and rig him is a complex topic, but thought I would start with some of the basics regarding power first....

Thank you!

_________________
www.reverbnation.com/jacksjoy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ground Question with PP2+ & Digital
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 12:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 1:27 pm
Posts: 187
Location: Irvine, CA
I would check all your cables, both long and short. A lot of the time, a cable is poorly shielded, damaged, something like that. All the outputs of the Pedal Powers are isolated, so unless you're sharing outputs with multiple pedals that shouldn't be the issue. Strapping them to the rack also shouldn't be the issue, because everything should be grounded, unless you have a piece of other equipment that isn't grounded. Sometimes older plugs with only 2 prongs and no grounding prong cause issues.

I would check cabling, and try omitting certain loops to narrow it down.
Hopefully that helps.

_________________
Julian Shur
Pedal Junkie/Amateur Circuit Barber


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ground Question with PP2+ & Digital
PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 7:39 am
Posts: 84
How are all the voodoo supplies grounded? Are they grounded to the enclosure chassis or just through the power plug?

I have a Voodo Pedal Power AC, PP2+ and Digital in my rig. I'm still in the troubleshooting phase...

_________________
www.reverbnation.com/jacksjoy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ground Question with PP2+ & Digital
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 8:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 1:27 pm
Posts: 187
Location: Irvine, CA
Well its got the 3rd power pin, so it should shunt any transient current to ground. If you think you might have a ground loop, try insulating any chassis contact with a piece of fabric or something.

_________________
Julian Shur
Pedal Junkie/Amateur Circuit Barber


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: