PP2+-->Pedal Switcher--->GC 1rst model v.2?

General discussion and tech talk about the industry standard Pedal Power line of power supplies.
Post Reply
alfonso
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 2:03 am

PP2+-->Pedal Switcher--->GC 1rst model v.2?

Post by alfonso » Mon Jul 13, 2009 1:34 pm

Hello I bought a Pedal Switcher today to be connected with an old type Ground Control (software v. 2.4). The MIDI cable transmits power to the GC and that's expected, since the PSw is connected with his own adapter.

But I've read that the PSw can be powered also with the out 6 from the PP2+ switched to on. That is no more an AC supply. What happens at that point to the power transmission through the MIDI cable to the GC? I didn't try since I don't know if this would harm the GC or not.

Thanks. :)

JohnClark
Posts: 7078
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: PP2+-->Pedal Switcher--->GC 1rst model v.2?

Post by JohnClark » Tue Jul 14, 2009 10:19 am

The problem isn't AC vs DC here as both the Ground Control (Pro also) and the Pedal Switcher can be powered from AC or DC, but there just isn't enough current to power both from a single Pedal Power output. You might be able to get away with powering each one from its own Pedal Power output but if you are gigging around you should use the supplied adapter for the Pedal Switcher to avoid problems in places with funky power.

Heh, that'd be a cool band name "Funky Power"... I'll be here all week!

alfonso
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 2:03 am

Re: PP2+-->Pedal Switcher--->GC 1rst model v.2?

Post by alfonso » Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:09 pm

Ok thanks.

the 2 250 amp outs are not necessary for anything else. If I connect the external power of the GC does it defeat the one coming from MIDI cable?

JohnClark
Posts: 7078
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: PP2+-->Pedal Switcher--->GC 1rst model v.2?

Post by JohnClark » Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:07 pm

If you are going to go this route, use outputs 5 and 6 with the dip switch set away from normal. Honestly, I am sort of regretting suggesting this without knowing more about what you are doing. For the best reliability you should use the supplied adapter. If the Pedal Power is going to be there anyway, then you can use the Courtesy Outlet on the back. What are the other things you are powering with the Pedal Power? Is this for a home studio or other controlled environment or are you going to be using this at random clubs and bars?

alfonso
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 2:03 am

Re: PP2+-->Pedal Switcher--->GC 1rst model v.2?

Post by alfonso » Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:33 pm

JohnClark wrote:If you are going to go this route, use outputs 5 and 6 with the dip switch set away from normal. Honestly, I am sort of regretting suggesting this without knowing more about what you are doing. For the best reliability you should use the supplied adapter. If the Pedal Power is going to be there anyway, then you can use the Courtesy Outlet on the back. What are the other things you are powering with the Pedal Power? Is this for a home studio or other controlled environment or are you going to be using this at random clubs and bars?
Well...it's not that necessary really....obviously is nice to have less stuff to carry and hook but having one more adapter is not an issue. It was more of a question that remained floating in my mind after having read the FAQ's where it is mentioned the use of PP2+ for the switcher but it leaves you with a question since the powering through MIDI of the GC is so much recommended as a standard way to go during normal operation.

Thank you very much for answering. I will use the most reliable way for sure, but I think it's paramount to know well my gear just in case, for example, that the supplied adapter has a failure during a gig, so I could have the double connection to the PP2+ as a sort of backup.

:)

Post Reply