It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 10:34 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: 200mA+ on output 5&6?
PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 6:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 6:31 am
Posts: 7
Hello!
The PP2+ page (http://www.voodoolab.com/pedalpower_2.htm) mentions that, with DIP Switch "ON", outputs 5&6 deliver "14.4V/12V(unregulated), 50mA/200mA+".
I would like to know what stands that "+" for? (200mA+). Does it mean that it can deliver more than 200mA?
I'd like to power a 12V 250mA device. May I do it?
Thank you


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 200mA+ on output 5&6?
PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 9:07 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:36 pm
Posts: 177
This is a good question. Outputs 5 & 6 are rated for 250mA. When the DIP switch is away from the normal position, these are unregulated. That means the actual voltage will vary with current. The specification is telling you that at 50mA the output voltage will be around 14.4V. When the current exceeds 200mA the output voltage drops to around 12V. Your 12V@250mA device should work fine.

Thanks!
Josh Fiden
Founder / CEO


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 200mA+ on output 5&6?
PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 9:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 6:31 am
Posts: 7
Thank you!
The 12V device I'd like to power is supposed to require 12V AC/DC according to the indications on the device itself, and 12V AC only according to the manual...
Let's say the manual is true and I take the risk to power it in DC on outputs 5 or 6; is there a risk to damage the PP2+ itself?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 200mA+ on output 5&6?
PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 10:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 7:53 am
Posts: 9
Josh, you were kind enough to answer my question about the T-Rex Viper pedal the other day. Not to beat a dead horse, but I just want to make sure I am thinking everything through (long time since my EE courses). If the Viper lists a current draw of 162mA @ 12V then the R of it's circuit is 0.074Ω. I understand that the output of 5 and 6 is unregulated, but the pedal itself will dictate that the output voltage to it (Viper) is 12V, right? I just don't want to damage the pedal circuit or not get the full effect. Thanks for your patience, and for being so available.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 200mA+ on output 5&6?
PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 10:59 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:36 pm
Posts: 177
Michel wrote:
The 12V device I'd like to power is supposed to require 12V AC/DC according to the indications on the device itself, and 12V AC only according to the manual... Let's say the manual is true and I take the risk to power it in DC on outputs 5 or 6; is there a risk to damage the PP2+ itself?

It's probably fine. What are you trying to power?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 200mA+ on output 5&6?
PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 11:10 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:36 pm
Posts: 177
wharris wrote:
Josh, you were kind enough to answer my question about the T-Rex Viper pedal the other day. Not to beat a dead horse, but I just want to make sure I am thinking everything through (long time since my EE courses). If the Viper lists a current draw of 162mA @ 12V then the R of it's circuit is 0.074Ω. I understand that the output of 5 and 6 is unregulated, but the pedal itself will dictate that the output voltage to it (Viper) is 12V, right? I just don't want to damage the pedal circuit or not get the full effect. Thanks for your patience, and for being so available.

A very long time... you're off by a factor of 1,000 and I'm not sure what you want to do with an equivalent resistive load value, aside from the fact that it is unlikely the pedal behaves anything like a resistive load. You can anticipate somewhere around 12.5V at 162mA. Since it is unregulated, you can also expect the actual output voltage to vary a little depending on your AC line voltage and what other loads are connected. It should be fine, please post your results!

Regards,
Josh Fiden
Founder / CEO


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 200mA+ on output 5&6?
PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 11:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 7:53 am
Posts: 9
I guess I get an F for not converting my mA! Thanks for the help. I'll let you know. Worst case scenario, I plug into the auxiliary outlet.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 200mA+ on output 5&6?
PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 11:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 6:31 am
Posts: 7
Josh Fiden wrote:
Michel wrote:
The 12V device I'd like to power is supposed to require 12V AC/DC according to the indications on the device itself, and 12V AC only according to the manual... Let's say the manual is true and I take the risk to power it in DC on outputs 5 or 6; is there a risk to damage the PP2+ itself?

It's probably fine. What are you trying to power?

A UHF wireless system receiver. DB Technologies PU910R. It uses 12V AC for sure, but it is unclear to me if it can also use 12V DC.
By the way, is there an easy and simple piece of equipment available to tranform the 12V DC output of the PP2+ into 12 AC?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 200mA+ on output 5&6?
PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 11:03 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:36 pm
Posts: 177
Michel wrote:
A UHF wireless system receiver. DB Technologies PU910R. It uses 12V AC for sure, but it is unclear to me if it can also use 12V DC.
By the way, is there an easy and simple piece of equipment available to tranform the 12V DC output of the PP2+ into 12 AC?

Sorry, I don't have any specific info on the PU910R receiver. A device converting from DC back to AC is called an inverter. I'm not aware of any inverters appropriate for this type of application. You'd be better off determining if it can be powered from DC, or getting a 12VAC supply.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 200mA+ on output 5&6?
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 1:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 6:31 am
Posts: 7
Thank you very much Josh.

(btw, I just got confirmation from the tech dpt at DB Technologies that the 910R also accepts 12V DC. Great!).


Josh Fiden wrote:
Michel wrote:
A UHF wireless system receiver. DB Technologies PU910R. It uses 12V AC for sure, but it is unclear to me if it can also use 12V DC.
By the way, is there an easy and simple piece of equipment available to tranform the 12V DC output of the PP2+ into 12 AC?

Sorry, I don't have any specific info on the PU910R receiver. A device converting from DC back to AC is called an inverter. I'm not aware of any inverters appropriate for this type of application. You'd be better off determining if it can be powered from DC, or getting a 12VAC supply.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: